Skip to content

Thanks Giving {41}

July 13, 2012

I knew there was a reason I liked you people (you people being anyone who reads and comments on my blog)! I think I am going to go with number 1 because it’s a bit more traditional, which seems appropriate for my first fair isle sweater attempt. I won’t be making the coordinating bag though. Now all I have to do is find the yarn. Many of you also liked 9, which I too like very much, and I already own the pattern, but I think I’ll save it for another time. I feel like my fear that I won’t be able to finish would be obvious with that one because it only uses 2 colors. What I’m trying to say is, I am thankful that you commented this week!

I am thankful to be home. I have vacuumed, unpacked, laundered, tidied, and put away. Now I can get to work on my next project – or several projects! I finished our closet a couple weeks ago, and the next room on my list is the living room. Nothing too major, just some art and curtains, and maybe some spray paint, but I think it will make a big difference. Thank goodness we’re home!

I am thankful that I got to spend the day Wednesday with my sister-in-law Tricia and soon-to-be brother-in-law Adam! We were working on something for their wedding, hopefully it turns out. Either way, it was fun spending the day with them. Not to mention getting to have lunch with some more of the family who happened to be down that day too. Thanks for lunch Joe and Rose, and for the company Frances, Ann and Brian! (Shout outs! Haha)

I am thankful that the lady who was recommended to my for my bridesmaid dress alterations is not put off by my procrastination. With only a few weeks left I finally got around to calling… Woops! She made it seem like this was plenty of time though. Hopefully everything turns out okay! Oh, and thanks Aunt Betsy for the recommendation!

Lastly, I am thankful for fresh fruit in the summer! It’s beautiful, it tastes delicious, it’s good for you. God really knew what he was doing when he made some of these plants! Right now I have some blueberries and cherries in my fridge that have been great for snacking, but I think it’s time they got a little extra attention before the remainder goes to waste. So – Cherry brandy and cherry simple syrup for a delicious cherry sidecar cocktail is on the menu, along with a blueberry cake. Yum!

What are you thankful for this week?

 

P.S. If you are bored tonight, and looking for something to do in the Lehigh Valley, stop by the Velodrome! We’ll be there again helping out, just look for the yellow t-shirts and you’ll find us. We are really having a good time doing this, even Timmy. I wonder what our next volunteering adventure will be?

P.P.S. Did you notice the changes to the website? I created a new header and added some new social media buttons on the side. Not much, but it’s a start! I also changed the blog name – sort of. The Domestic Duck is so much simpler, and it’s the address you type in to get here, so I’m going with that for now. What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Betsy permalink
    July 13, 2012 10:39 am

    Whoo Hoo!! I got my name on the blog! I am thankful for all the relatives who are helping with Audrey while she is up in NJ. Also please today keep Steve, who is flying to Israel, Grace, who is flying from England, and Curtis, who is picking her up at JFK, in your prayers today. love, Aunt Betsy

  2. Aunt Martha permalink
    July 13, 2012 10:44 am

    We are thankful you came to visit last week! It was great to see you and Tim! Katlynn is thankful for her new sheep you made! and Gabby was excited to spend time with you! Thank you for comming to visit! Love, Aunt Martha

  3. July 14, 2012 9:47 am

    I liked number 1 too take pictures I want to see them!

  4. Rose permalink
    July 15, 2012 12:11 am

    Shout out!!!!!!! Woooooo!

  5. July 15, 2012 4:54 pm

    I am thankful that I can read. And reading your blogs always, always, always brings a smile to my face. I am thankful for many, many things. Way too many to list. Love you, Melissa! Keep blogging for us!

Leave a Reply

