Skip to content

Coming Home

July 10, 2012

Ugh, is there anything more exhausting than coming home from vacation? Not only do you have to face a big pile of laundry, refilling the cupboards and fridge and, if you’re unlucky, work, but you never know what awaits you at home. Did a family of squirrels make their home in your couch cushions and run olympic trials all over your house with their claws? Did miscreants take advantage of your absence and squat for a week before departing with your worldly possessions? Did your neighbors have an unfortunate firework accident that burned your house to the ground while miraculously leaving theirs untouched? Who knows? I always feel a bit of dread as we turn onto our street…

Fortunately, nothing terrible happened while we were away. Aside from being immensely hot and stuffy inside, everything was as we left it. The only thing that had really changed was the vegetable garden. Somehow our sprinkler was damaged since last year, so at the last minute before our trip I found myself trying to rig it to work. Using nothing but a wine cork and some duct tape I managed to get it in half working condition – McGuyver would be proud(ish). It would only spray a small section of our yard, so I choose the vegetable garden as most worth saving.

Apparently, it worked. The tomato plants are 5 feet tall (no exaggeration) and have little green tomatoes growing all over! I have three green peppers, one that I plan to eat tonight. There are some green beans hanging on the vines, and LOTS of cucumber blossoms. I don’t know how this happened, last year’s garden was mostly a bust and this year we’re going to have a veggie surplus. I must have picked the right plants this time…

I guess I didn’t need to worry after all. Now if I could just get my hands on a couple of these… Chickens that is, not kids.

Fearless Katlynn and her Chicken of Glory

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    July 10, 2012 1:00 pm

    Your garden looks like it did well while you were away from home!

  2. Auntie Pam permalink
    July 10, 2012 1:24 pm

    Yes, I have come home to discover we had company in our home – flying squirrels! They ate the butter, chewed thru a bed spread and left little droppings everywhere. They even ran on the walls, sending wall hangins askew. Thanks to a handy hubby, the outside holes are blocked and the critters have been relocated to their outside home. Ah, life in the woods.

    • July 10, 2012 4:06 pm

      That’s terrible! And you have now confirmed that my fears could actually become reality someday… Now I’ll never get over the worrying!

Leave a Reply

