Skip to content

Home Run

July 3, 2012

Talk about a change of scenery; this was the view at the end of my run yesterday – it’s my parents’ house! Sorry I forgot to put the garage door down, Mom… Timmy and I are visiting for the 4th of July, but we couldn’t abandon our training! In case I haven’t mentioned it, I am training for a half marathon in September… Yikes! Running around my parents’ house in Michigan is a totally different experience from running around Bethlehem, PA.

This is the barn that belongs to the farm across the street from their house. I grew up here, out in the boonies, and I love it!  As I ran along the dirt roads I passed farms, a big pond bordered by cattails, I heard a rooster crowing. Almost every vehicle that went by was a dusty truck – nothing foreign. That would be almost too unpatriotic to bear out here (plus half the population is employed by car companies). You can see my family is no different, my dad’s truck is sitting in our driveway (not dusty because he washes it, like, every day).

It was amazing to see the difference between a city mile and a country mile on foot. I’m always surprised while running in Bethlehem, at how close everything seems to be. Out here in the backwoods of Fenton, MI, a mile and a half gets me almost nowhere. That’s how far I ran out and I only went over 2 cross streets. I guess that’s why I’ve always been a terrible judge of distance – I’ve been using a counrty mile as my basis. That doesn’t explain why I’m a terrible judge of time though… I’ll blame that on my mom haha.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    July 3, 2012 11:12 am

    Thanks for sharing the pictures of your Michigan home, Melissa. It looks like a lovely place to run (walk!) around the 4th. I love the red, white, and blue.

    I bet they can keep chickens out there- no problem.

    • July 3, 2012 11:40 am

      They definitely could. My aunt and uncle have chickens – and 2 sheep! I even heard a rumor that my aunt is going to have them sheered and the wool cleaned for me to spin and knit!

  2. Auntie Pam permalink
    July 3, 2012 11:30 am

    Had no idea you were “home”. Trying to figure out when you mom had time to hang the bunting! A beautiful place to run. Enjoy your stay.

    • July 3, 2012 11:41 am

      We just got here on Sunday night. I hung the bunting when I got here; it was in the garage and I knew they had been busy so I thought I’d help out. I hope we get a chance to see you while we’re here!

  3. Rose permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:34 pm

    Your parents house looks so beautiful – and so do the trees. I loved reading (with envy right now!) about the pretty country scene. We are going to the Pops outside at Independence Hall tonight – they will read the Declaration of Independence and I love that too! I just hope the “occupy movement” doesn’t interfere……have a wonderful trip and hi to your parents.
    Happy Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

