Skip to content

Simple Summer Tank

July 2, 2012

I bought a tank top from Target a little while ago that I really like. It is casual, and it fits perfectly. I decided that I could probably recreate it without too much stress. Success! This was so simple that I will definitely be making another.

I bought the fabric – a jersey knit – at Fabric.com. My usual stop – JoAnn’s doesn’t usually have much to offer in the way of knits. Actually, I have been regularly disappointed on my visits there lately. Maybe I’ll have to make another trip down to the textiles district in Philadelphia… Anyway, this top took about 3/4 yard, and I used some bias tape to bind the neck and arms. To make the pattern I just laid the tank I liked on top of the fabric and cut around it.

Funny side story about that tank top from Target – Last weekend Timmy’s sister Tricia (and her fiance, Adam) stayed the night at our house. In the morning I went out for a run, and a few minutes after I got back Tricia came in the door from her run. We discovered that we both have the same Target running tank. Then she takes a shower and comes out in the exact same tank that I used as a model for this tank top… It’s a good thing we don’t live closer or we might end up wearing the same thing a little too often. Although, I think her closet resembles the wardrobe in The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, except instead of a snowy world on the other side there is another closet packed full of more fabulous clothes. Yes, I am jealous. But if I keep the sewing machine pumping I will have a few more custom, one-of-a-kind garments to fill the void.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia permalink
    July 2, 2012 8:52 am

    I am wayy jealous of this top!! It is so cute, and I love the colors! I need a sewing lesson.

  2. July 2, 2012 9:13 am

    Love it & YOU! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

