Skip to content

Thanks Giving {38}

June 22, 2012

You saw a few little pictures of my garden’s progress in Wednesday’s post, but that doesn’t begin to express how BIG all my plants are. They’re overflowing the garden box! I gave them some miracle grow vegetable garden plant food when I planted them and it worked. This week I am thankful that I was home to water in the heat, and that my plants are starting to bear fruit!

I am also thankful that the two little bunny babies who have been hopping around our backyard have left my veggies alone. They did nibble every last verbena flower, but by the time I saw them the plant was destroyed so I decided to let the eat the leaves too. They were just so cute! Plus, I was happy they were leaving everything else pretty much alone. After they filled their little bellies they chased each other around the patio a bit. Adorable!

I am thankful for all of the farmer’s markets in the Bethlehem, PA area! I have had fresh blueberries, strawberries and all kinds of veggies, even fresh sourdough bread all week. I am also thankful for Aunt AnnMarie’s suggestion that I try the veggie empanadas at the Caribbean stand. YUM! So good! They put some kind of sweet sauce on them, delicious. Seriously, if you live around here, you should try them.

Finally, I am thankful for the chance to get together with friends and family for a small dinner party tonight! I am thankful that Timmy just goes along with most of my ideas for parties and dinner plans too. I am thankful that Timmy has such a nice family. We love getting together with them, and it makes it a little easier (and a little harder) to be so far from my family. Can’t wait for a night of fun!

What are you thankful for this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    June 22, 2012 9:33 am

    Glad you liked the empanadas. I’ll be going on Saturday morning to get strawberries again, weather permitting. Maybe I’ll see you there?

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    June 22, 2012 9:34 am

    You’ll have to share what you are eating from your garden. You should see what we’ve had so far!

    • June 22, 2012 9:55 am

      Well, so far we haven’t eaten anything, it’s not quite ready. I’m guessing the green peppers will be big enough and ready to eat this coming week or next weekend. Can’t wait! I’d love to come up and check out your garden sometime!

Leave a Reply

