Skip to content

Frozen Banana and Peanut Butter Bites

June 21, 2012

A couple of weeks ago I stopped in at MaryKay’s (my mother-in-law’s) house and she was raving about these frozen banana bites she found on Pinterest. I tried one, and they were delicious! Then she told me how they are good for me, because bananas are good for you. A little peanut butter protein is good for you. And scientists even agree that a little dark chocolate every day is good for you – all those anti-oxidants. I can’t argue with that logic so, I made them the next day. I love having these treats in the freezer whenever I need a little something sweet after dinner, or breakfast…

The recipe can be found here, at The Novice Chef. Just a tip – I’d actually follow the recipe and make the peanut butter mixture, rather than trying to get away with just dropping plain old peanut butter on the bananas. Peanut butter gets pretty hard in the freezer. Also, make sure you use a dark chocolate that’s good for melting – many chocolate chips have stabilizers in them that make it difficult to get a smooth consistency when melting.

They took about 15 minutes to make (plus a little freezing time) and last about 2 weeks. I should note that I’m the only one who eats them, so if you have a 2 or more people munching they probably won’t last as long. In the summer, when my house is hot even without the oven on, it’s nice to have a treat you don’t need to bake. What are your favorite summer treats?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Pam permalink
    June 21, 2012 9:50 am

    Frozen Banana Bites and Blackberry Tarts are on my menu for next time I have company. Thanks

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    June 21, 2012 11:21 am

    I used plain organic crunchy peanut butter and milk chocolate chips (for Bill). So tasty and they take no time at all to make!!

  3. June 21, 2012 11:23 am

    these look really yummy!! maybe you should send a few my way…. đŸ˜‰

    • June 22, 2012 7:56 am

      If only there was a way to keep them frozen through the mail… Maybe I’ll whip some up for you when I visit!

Leave a Reply

