Skip to content

Thanks Giving {37}

June 15, 2012

This was a long week! On Wednesday I was pretty sure it was Friday. It wasn’t… I spent the week making over our closet, painting, putting up more hanging space, building shoe storage, etc. It created a huge mess in the house, but it is sooo much better now! I still have some things I’d like to work on, but maybe I’ll show you what I did next week. So for starters, I’m thankful for our new closet!

I am also thankful that Timmy and I were on the same wave length last week and both decided separately we wanted to start doing some volunteer work. I had a list of ideas when he got home and he had a sign up sheet. We decided to start by volunteering at the local cycling track – the Velodrome. Tonight is our first night, I think we’ll have fun!

Finally, I am thankful for my parents and my in-laws, who both recently celebrated their anniversaries. I am thankful that Timmy and I had such excellent examples of what marriage could and should be. I can’t say I never saw them argue, but I saw them complement (and compliment) and care for each other way more often. A lot of people say that marriage is a lot of work, but my parents showed me that it’s not. It’s a lot of fun with occasional maintenance. I’m thankful I found someone who I can have fun with too! Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad (and Tim and MaryKay)!!

What are you thankful for today?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    June 15, 2012 8:55 am

    Thank you for the Anniversary wishes. I am so thankful for your father because without him there would not be you or Michael. We are blessed to have such wonderful children. I am also thankful for your blog. You have a gift for writing and I so enjoy reading it. Have a wonderful Friday! Love, Mom

  2. Rose permalink
    June 15, 2012 12:10 pm

    Yes, moms are the best! Happy Anniversary to the Walkers. You are a great writer Melissa and I am thankful for this blog too. I am also thankful for Carvel ice cream cakes – Uncle Joe bought me one yesterday to celebrate the end of my Drexel spring term (finally!) I am also thankful that he eats only a tiny piece and pretends that he ate more so I don’t feel bad about eating the rest!The freezer is calling……..

  3. June 15, 2012 1:14 pm

    Hi, Melissa! Happy anniversary to your parents & parents-in-law. Carl and I will be celebrating 18 years on June 18th. I agree with you that marriage is a lot of fun with a little maintenance now and then. I am soooooo thankful to be married to one of the best guys in the world! I am also thankful for Terra Mediterranean Chips. My latest addiction. There is no way I can eat just one. I am also thankful for my kids & their wives & their kids (my grandbabies). We have one more on the way, probably next week. Will be hectic for a while but worth every minute of it. Love you, Melissa and wishing you a wonderful weekend!

    • June 15, 2012 1:34 pm

      Happy Anniversary! And congratulations on the soon to be new grand baby! So exciting!! Sounds like things are good over there!

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    June 15, 2012 3:09 pm

    Happy Anniversary Barbara and Dave!!
    I’m thankful for my wonderful husband and that no matter what we always have fun together!!
    I’m thankful for this blog too and add my agreement that you are a great writer, Melissa. As a great reader, I appreciate the people who CAN put words together and take the time to do it.

Leave a Reply

