Skip to content

I Found Myself… With Lemon Curd

June 13, 2012

The other day I was standing in front of the fridge (door open, obviously) and I found myself with a jar of lemon curd. I don’t know how it happened. I didn’t even know I was lost, but there I was all of the sudden.

What a weird phrase, “I found myself.” I like it. It means something unexpected, but usually positive happened. That can’t be bad, right? On the other hand, I hate it when people go “looking” for themselves. Really? You’re going on a trek through the Himalayas to “find” yourself? That doesn’t even make sense. First of all, you’d have to be extremely careless. To get lost in a book or your thoughts, that’s fine. But to get lost in the abstract; that’s just irresponsible. And second of all, people never find themselves on purpose. No one says, “I went out to see a movie and found myself at the theater.” That’s stupid. People say, “I went out to see a movie and found myself on a two week Alaskan cruise!” So, if you’re reading this and you’re “looking for yourself,” here’s my advice: Stop.

That being said, I found myself with some lemon curd. So, I made lemon bars with coconut. They were delicious. Here’s a link to the recipe I used – Thirty Handmade Days. I hope you find yourself doing something interesting today!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2012 10:04 am

    I agree. If your looking for yourself… Stop.

Leave a Reply

