Skip to content

Garden Project Reveal!

May 29, 2012

It was so fun keeping everyone in suspense over the weekend! I imagine you all had a hard time even enjoying the festivities, being so plagued by thoughts of what my project could be. Well, today is the day! My big garden project was… a hanging herb garden! Since no one guessed it I’ll have to keep the prize, which was a hundred dollars. Too bad!

I am pretty happy with the way this project turned out. I had seen a few different types of hanging herb gardens online, but nothing that I really felt confident I could build on my own, so I improvised. I even used power tools! Okay, a power tool… not even an exciting one, just a drill. But I used it with gusto! Here’s what I did:

1 – Spray paint paint cans. 2 – Drill holes in wood planks and thread rope through. 3 – tie knots below each plank. 4 – Using a big nail, hammer several holes in the bottom of each paint can for drainage. Hammer nails on the planks where the cans should hang. 5 – Plant herbs and hang.

The herbs seem to be very happy hanging on the side of our house, and I’m happy to have a new supply of fresh herbs on hand.

*********************************
I’m linking up here:
five days five ways  feature friday free for all
Skip To My Lou

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 9:22 am

    looks great!!

  2. Dad permalink
    May 29, 2012 10:29 am

    Very cool Melissa. I am impressed that you used a power tool.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    May 29, 2012 2:10 pm

    I love it! Functional and beautiful, plus I’m jealous of the fresh herbs.

Leave a Reply

