Skip to content

Weekend Chic: Summer Party Must-Haves

May 26, 2012
Memorial Weekend Must Haves
Memorial Weekend Must Haves by mrsduck featuring a floppy hat

I don’t know about you, but I H.A.T.E. being hot. If I were a serial killer I would do all my killing in the summer. Don’t worry, I’m not (yet). This Memorial Day weekend is supposed to be hot, with the added bonus of high humidity. Almost nothing makes me as uncomfortable as sitting in the sun at a summer party. First I start to feel sticky, then I feel like I’m sitting in a pool of my own sweat, I’m sure my clothes are getting big sweaty patches, and I feel like I’m starting to stink. I know, most of that is probably not happening but in my mind it is real. So here are the things I think I’ll need to combat the discomfort:

1 – maxi dresses. The less clothing the better, right? With a maxi dress I could be wearing one single item of clothing. That’s right, one, and you’d never know. Hahaha. Well, in reality I’d probably wear three, but I could wear one.

2 – shorts and loose fitting tanks. Shorts, because they’re comfortable and allow for more skin to feel the breeze than anything else. And loose fitting tops because they don’t stick to my sweaty-ness, and I can flap them back and forth in a fan like manner which I’m sure my mother would consider “lady-like”.

3 – sunglasses. Crucial. If I’m going to get a headache after a summer party, I don’t want it to be from squinting at the bright sunshine.

4 – hats. Ditto. Plus they keep you shady.

5 – headbands. To catch the sweat? Maybe. But also to keep the hair up and away from my face and neck.

6 – sandals and comfy shoes. Can easily be slipped off to step in the pool or cool off in the grass. Notice a couple pairs of white shoes up there? If you’re a traditionalist like me this will be your first chance this summer to wear white shoes! If you’ve already worn them, I’m sure I passed silent judgment.

7 – sunblock/sunscreen – Also crucial. With a wedding coming up at the end of the summer, in which I will be wearing a one strapped dress, I am especially nervous about tan lines. Perhaps the slow but inevitable approach of my 30th birthday is also making me think about skin care a bit more…

Hopefully, all of these things will help. Either way, I’m sure I’ll enjoy the two parties we are headed to this weekend, and maybe a little backyard barbecuing at home too. Whatever you’re plans, have a stylish Saturday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    May 26, 2012 10:09 am

    Melissa – I love number 6!! You are too funny. Can’t wait to see everyone this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

