Skip to content

Thanks Giving {34}

May 25, 2012

Last week Timmy looked at me and said, “You haven’t even done any thankful posts. Aren’t you thankful any more?” I think he was feeling a little neglected. So today I am thankful for Timmy, and his little brother Bill, and all the work they did helping me in the garden. It looks amazing now! I had been putting off weeding so long that the weeds started to take over the plants that belonged there. Sadly, I put it off one week too many and it choked out my peonies – I only had three flowers bloom, and those are my favorites!

It took all weekend, weeding, getting compost, planting, but finally I have a neat and orderly garden. The vegetables are even in! I planted three tomatoes, two peppers, one jalepeno, some zucchini, cucumbers and green beans. Here are some shots from round the garden –

Now I’m ready for a garden party! Perhaps a small dinner party outside or a bigger afternoon soiree…

Before I leave you with a hint about another garden project I’ll be sharing next week, one more thing for which I’m thankful – Tricia’s fiance Adam. Tricia (my sister-in-law), is a really nice, caring, fun person to be around. I am thankful that she found another nice, caring, fun person to spend her life with. Adam always makes Tricia’s happiness a priority. It’s a bit of a relief to know that she is marrying someone who will think of her first, she deserves it! Thanks Adam, and happy birthday!

Now, here’s a sneak peek at a project I will be revealing next week – can you guess what it is??

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Walker permalink
    May 25, 2012 9:21 am

    Every week you are thankful I reflect on how thanful I am to have you. As a mother I could not have asked for a more wonderful daughter. Your garden is beautiful! Have a wonderful weekend. Love , Mom

    • May 25, 2012 10:30 am

      Thank you! Every day I discover a new way in which I’m just like you haha… Fall asleep at 8:00 on the couch, check! Feel the impulse to buy dishes for every season and special occasion, check! What will it be today? I wish you could come over for a garden party this weekend!!

  2. JoEllen permalink
    May 25, 2012 10:56 am

    Melissa, your garden is beautiful. Keep up the hard work. Speaking of being thankful, have you read the book “One Thousand Gifts”? it is inspiring!

    • May 25, 2012 4:58 pm

      I haven’t read it, but I think I’ve heard of it. I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Aunt Betsy permalink
    May 25, 2012 4:46 pm

    Wow Melissa, the back yard looks great! I think it is a trellis for the beans.
    What kind of tomatoes went in?

    • May 25, 2012 4:57 pm

      It is a trellis for the beans (and cucmbers). Timmy built it himself so he’ll be happy to see someone noticed it! There are 2 Champion tomatoes and 1… Smaller sized tomato? Haha, I can’t remember!

  4. Aunt Tricia permalink
    May 25, 2012 7:21 pm

    Glad you’re back. And I love the bleeding hearts. We had some in our first house over in west Bethlehem.

  5. Tricia permalink
    May 26, 2012 11:32 am

    Your garden looks great! And I love the thankful post about Adam! I’m thankful for him too!!

  6. Ann Marie permalink
    May 27, 2012 11:17 am

    Hey, Melissa, I love the garden. It’s beautiful. Tim and Bill did a great job weeding, and you did a nice job laying it all out and planting.

    Is there a story behind that picture of Adam and Tricia? (Happy Birthday Adam!)

Leave a Reply

