Skip to content

Thanks Giving {33} : Timmy’s Birthday Edition

May 4, 2012

Today I am thankful for Timmy, my husband. He makes me happy! Today is Timmy’s birthday, whoo! In celebration of this momentous occasion – life changing for me – I present to you the top 10 reasons Timmy is wonderful (you should be thankful I limited it to 10!).

10 – Like many in his family, he laughs when he gets nervous. It’s really cute. When he proposed to me, I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with him, he kept giggling laughing in a manly manner. Of course, as soon as he asked me I realized what the laughing was all about.

9 – He likes to watch ridiculous political personalities on TV and then get fired up and tell me how ridiculous they are. There aren’t many things that Timmy can go on and on about, but this will get him going. Fortunately, or unfortunately, I generally agree with him so it’s hard to really discuss anything with me. Sometimes I try to argue for the other side but, he’s so cute it’s hard to keep it up.

8 – He’s always looking out for how other people in a group are feeling. When there is a new person he goes out of his way to make sure they are involved in the conversation and not left out. He can usually read people pretty well, so he can help when people are feeling uncomfortable. What a nice guy!

7 – He’s thoughtful. He remembers special occasions and makes an effort to do a little something. Even if it’s just writing a note, he always makes me feel like he really thought about what he wrote.

6 – He listens. He is really good at listening, sometimes even when I don’t remember talking… For example, I had mentioned that I wanted to try quilting and there was a certain tool that would be helpful. I had no idea he was even paying much attention, but Christmas came and there was the exact thing I had mentioned. He always puts his book down in the evenings when I’m talking to him too, even when it’s a good part and I’m asking silly questions just to be annoying.

5 – He loves his family. I mean, they’re pretty great, but he really likes to spend time with them and include them in our lives. That goes for my family too, he happily joins in planning visits. Family is important to him.

4 – He worries about me. As I mentioned last week, he gave me that Road ID so I’d be taken care of in an emergency. He also gives me running advice so I don’t get injured. He asks me how my day was, especially when he knows I had to do something I was dreading. It’s nice to be worried about by someone other than your mom…

3 – He’s handsome! Look how cute he is! And his smile! What else can I say? So good looking.

2 – He’s smart. He reads a LOT, but what’s more important is that he takes the things he reads different places and puts it all together to make sense. Then he tells me all the info, what a relief to not have to do all that work myself haha! Plus, whenever I’m stumped or confused he can usually help me out.

1 – Timmy is caring. As is pretty clear from the above reasons, he cares about his family, other people, me. He does things to let people know he cares, thought it’s often subtle. He helps people and wants his friends and family to be happy. He’s just a really good guy.

There you have it, just a few of the many reasons I’m thankful for my husband. I’m pretty sure he’s going to be slightly annoyed that I didn’t write about how athletic he is, and what a fast runner/bicyclist he is… Sorry! Those might have made the top 20 list, but not the top 10 – I’d still like him if he was slow. I am so thankful for Timmy today! Happy Birthday and Happy Quatro de Mayo!

*************************************************

P.S. I apologize for the lack of posts this week. This whole month is going to be pretty busy for me as the school year winds down and the summer of busy weekends starts up. The posts may be a bit sparse for the next few weeks, but I’ll do my best to post at least a couple times each week. Have a great Friday!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. megan permalink
    May 4, 2012 9:28 am

    happy birthday Tim!!! cant wait to see you guys!!!

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    May 4, 2012 10:27 am

    Can I brag? I am his Godmother. I’m thinking that may have something to do with how great he is.
    Happy Birthday Timmy. We all love you and are glad you won Melissa’s heart!

  3. Tricia permalink
    May 4, 2012 10:46 am

    Very cute post! Happy Birthday to Timmy!! Whoo!!

  4. Rose permalink
    May 4, 2012 11:12 am

    Happy Birthday Timmy! We love you too.
    Aunt Rose and Uncle Joe

  5. Uncle Tom permalink
    May 4, 2012 11:42 am

    Happy Birthday, Tim-
    I still vividly remember the day you were born. It was a very happy day indeed.
    Many blessings for you and Melissa-
    Uncle Tom

  6. Mary Kay permalink
    May 4, 2012 11:58 am

    You’re welcome!
    Love,
    Tim and Mary Kay

  7. Mary Kay permalink
    May 4, 2012 12:00 pm

    Kidding.
    Happy Birthday Timmy. I agree with everything Melissa wrote! Thank God you were smart enough to spot the great person she is and snap her up.
    Love
    Mom

  8. Aunt Tricia permalink
    May 4, 2012 2:39 pm

    Happy Birthday Timmy! What a great guy.
    Love,
    Aunt Tricia

  9. Aunt Betsy permalink
    May 4, 2012 5:18 pm

    Happy Birthday Timmy! One of my favorite memories of him was taking him up to Freedom High school’s parking lot and playing line tag. He really was a cutie- What a smile!
    Love,
    Aunt Betsy

  10. May 5, 2012 1:10 pm

    Happy birthday tim!

Leave a Reply

