Skip to content

DIY Ombre Kitchen Towels

April 17, 2012

Who doesn’t love a bright pop of color in their kitchen? Since ombre is so trendy right now I thought I’d try my hand at dip dyeing some flour sack kitchen towels to get ready for summer. Flour sack towels are probably my all time favorite kitchen towel, but generally you can only get them in white. So I’ve added my own touch.

For these I used 100% cotton flour sack towels from Target and Rit fabric dye. I dipped about a quarter of the towel in, waited 5-7 minutes, dipped another quarter in, waited another 7 minutes, dipped another quarter in, waited some more. You get the idea. Other than that I just followed the instructions on the package. Only after I did this project did I come across the advice that said to dip all the way in, then pull out (the reverse of what I did), and to wait to rinse the dye until the towel dries over night… I have another pack of dye and some more towels, so I’ll try the blog recommended technique for round 2 and then we can compare. Then I’m thinking I might dye some sheets, or maybe a pair of old-ish white pants… For now, I’m happy with my sunny orange kitchen towels!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 10:17 am

    I love these!! they look great i hope we can do some fun projects when i am there this fall i cant wait to come and see you and just hang out! i miss you so much!!

    ps did you try the new photo site yet???

  2. aunt Betsy permalink
    April 17, 2012 2:17 pm

    Those gorgeous towels would look great in my Florida kitchen.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    April 17, 2012 5:29 pm

    Those are really cute and ZI love the orange.
    MK

Leave a Reply

