Skip to content

Thai Tea & Trouble in Threes

April 12, 2012

We have a mouse. I’m sure you think I’m exaggerating the gravity of the situation by my tone (dire, if you can’t tell). Let me assure you, I am not. When I went downstairs to start the morning coffee, I turned the corner into the kitchen and heard a skittering sound. I froze, and strained my ears. Apparently so did the mouse. I flipped on the lights, more skittering and then nothing. Then I made a big mistake – I yelled to Timmy, “I think we have a mouse!” He is notoriously… disinclined, shall we say, to dealing with live creatures in the house. His first response was, “Are you sure it’s not a bat?!” Bats are his arch-nemesis.

After he let me look around with a flashlight to make sure it wasn’t the kind of mouse that would jump out and attack, he came into the kitchen. By this time I had started the coffee pot, and just as he was crouching down to check under the oven the pot gurgled. Priceless. Timmy jumped and looked around as if the mouse had been lying in wait just for him.  Of course, it wasn’t the mouse.  The mouse hasn’t been heard from again, and Timmy has only slightly relaxed after many reassurances that I have mouse traps ready to go. Now we wait.

And that’s exactly what I was doing when I heard the sound of the street sweeper outside. That’s odd, I thought to myself. We had received a post card that they were only going to sweep the streets every other week, and this was an off week. Which meant, to me, that we could park in the street without getting a ticket. We were parked in the street. Other cars were also parked in the street. Sure enough, the Parking Authority (PA) lady was giving out tickets anyway. I ran out to her –

“Are you giving tickets because of the street sweeper?” I try to start out with the easy, obvious questions so they underestimate my intelligence.

“Yes.”

“I received a post card in the mail…”

“The sign says you can’t park here today,” said the PA lady.

“Yes, but I just got this post card that said…”

“The sign says you can’t park here today,” said the PA lady.

“The post card seemed to indicate…”

“The sign says you can’t park here today.”

“I’ll just call the number on the post card then…” I said, defeated. Well played PA lady.

So I did. I went right inside, fuming, ripped the postcard from the fridge, where I had placed it for easy reference, and dialed the number. The PA main office. I explained to the woman my situation, I just got a ticket but I had this post card –

“We didn’t send it,” is her reply.

“Well, it says Bethlehem Parking Authority on it, and…”

“We didn’t send it, it must have been the City.”

“Okay, regardless of who sent it, it has your name on it and it seems to indicate that the street sweeping would only occur on the first and third Thursdays of each month, and…”

“We didn’t send that postcard, but I will forward you to the supervisor.” Click.

I’m pretty sure “the supervisor” is just an answering machine that immediately deletes any messages after the caller hangs up. I can already see how this is going to go. I’m going to wait, like an idiot, for a return call. Then I’m going to pay the ticket because I don’t have time to go to the PA Office. And they win. Maybe I’ll stop going to the preschool and occupy the Parking Authority Office. Who’s with me?!

That’s two. Two annoying problems to start the morning. Which only leaves me wondering – what’s next? I know it is a fact that things happen in threes. Now I’m living in fear. Is it just going to be a cold shower, or is the refrigerator going to stop working? Am I going to get stuck in construction traffic on the way to work or is one of the kids going to have a complete melt down and do something terrible? What is it? WHAT IS IT?!?! Damn you Universe, and your rule of threes…

You know what I need to calm my nerves after this morning? A tall glass of Thai Tea! How’s that for a segway? I made Thai Tea the other day and it is delicious. When I was in law school I used to go to a place called Bubble Island and get thai tea with tapioca bubbles all. the. time. Unfortunately, I have not found tapioca bubbles around here yet, but I did just discover an Asian market nearby, so I’ll have to check there. I have, however, pretty much perfected my thai tea recipe.

Here’s what you need: A big pot, about 8 cups of water, 2/3 cup of sugar, 10 star anise pods, 10-12 black tea bags, and half to 2/3 of a can of sweetened condensed milk. Here’s what you do: 1) Bring water, sugar and star anise to boil in the pot; 2) remove from heat and add tea bags; 3) Allow to steep and cool about 1 hour; 4) Discard star anise and tea bags, whisk in sweetened condensed milk to taste, add mint for garnish. I’ve found that less is more with the sweetened condensed milk, you don’t want the tea too sweet… Then bottle it up and store it in the fridge. This recipe makes kind of a lot (3 bottles in my case), so if you’re looking for just a taste you could always cut everything in half.

Remember this recipe for the summer, it tastes even better when you’re sitting outside under an umbrella reading a good book!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    April 12, 2012 11:04 am

    Funniest post ever! Honestly.
    Good luck with the mouse and the Parking Authority – I can’t believe she wrote the ticket with you standing there!!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    April 12, 2012 12:14 pm

    Loved it! Kudos to the coffee maker- I wish you caught that on tape.

    About that mouse- you need a cat.
    Jojo, Julie, and I had to confront a mouse on our own one day and we locked the cat in the room with it, then went to school. When we came home in the afternoon, all that was left was theflattened out hind legs and tail. It looked like a little pair of Mickey Mouse pants laying on the floor. We ran to the other side of the house that afternoon until Steven could come home and get rid of those mousey pants.

    • April 13, 2012 8:58 am

      Don’t type that too loud! I have 2 cats who live with my parents and I’m sure my parents would love any excuse to ship them here… Your mouse story is hilarious. I’m sure in reality it was pretty gross, but the idea of mouse pants makes me laugh every time I think of it.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    April 13, 2012 6:36 am

    I just read this again. It’s so funny. Please follow up on this one…you can’t leave us hanging!

Leave a Reply

