Skip to content

Thanks Giving {29}

April 6, 2012

Finally, the weather is spring like! Not too warm, not too chilly, perfect for working outside and getting the garden ready for planting. That’s my plan for today. I’m thankful that the weather is cooperating, and that I have a little backyard garden to work in!

I’m also thankful for a couple days off from school! Finally I can do all the cleaning projects and still have time to work on fun crafting/sewing/knitting projects. And maybe even read!! That’s a big luxury for me lately, for some reason. Woohoo free time!

I am thankful that Kindle has a highlight function. I know, weird. I’ve always been one of those people who highlights her books. To me, books are meant to be loved, not protected by plastic covers and white gloves. My favorite books all have bent pages, highlighted passages and some even have notes in the margins, in pen no less. It’s funny to go back and reread the book with the notes, sometimes I think the same thing again and other times I wonder why I liked this or that passage. I am reading The Three Musketeers on my Kindle Fire and I thought about switching to the hardcopy because Alexander Dumas is so clever I was itching to highlight. That’s when I discovered that I can not only highlight, but also take notes! There must be other people like me if Kindle added these features. Thanks Kindle people!

Finally, I am thankful that Timmy has today off. I love getting a little extra time with him! Maybe he’ll even help me in the garden?

What are you thankful for today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    April 6, 2012 7:57 pm

    Melissa –
    I am mid-Three Musketeers – and love it, but had to start reading things to get ready for my classes, so I’m off track a bit. I also LOVED The Count of Monte Cristo. I think it’s my favorite book.

    I am thankful for your Babka recipe – I have two loaves in the oven, and I can’t wait to have some tomorrow morning.

    I am thankful for Good Friday!
    Can’t wait to see everyone on Easter.
    Love,
    Rose

  2. Rose permalink
    April 6, 2012 7:59 pm

    PS –
    I can’t go back to hard copy for Alexander Dumas – way too many words I need to look up and the kIndle dictionary makes it soooo easy!

    • April 10, 2012 8:50 am

      True, except a lot of the words I want to look up are french and not in the dictionary…

Leave a Reply

