Skip to content

Paper Magnolia Tree

March 28, 2012

I’ve started decorating for spring! That is, I’ve finally added something to my decor since I made this spring flowers banner. With my parents visit impending I felt the surge of last minute preparation panic! As I cleaned the house I added a few touches here and there to make it seem a bit less post-Christmas and a bit more pre-Easter/Spring. Success!

The first project I did was a magnolia branch. I already had this lit branch out for Christmas, admittedly, it still had the Christmas bow on the vase as of March 21… But once the bow was removed the branches seemed as good as any I might find outside or better, since they light up. So instead of hauling them up to the attic I added some paper magnolias. These were made following the tutorial I found at Craftberry Bush, but I didn’t have any foam eggs for the stamen, so I made little balls of yarn and glued them in. I think they look pretty good! The leaves are origami from pinterest, I like the color that they add. Pinterest is always reassuring me in my paper crafting craziness – I know I’m not the only one who loves it! Check out my Origami and Paper Crafting board for proof.

More of my spring decorating to come later this week and next…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    March 28, 2012 11:48 am

    THAT is adorable!! Very fresh and springy.
    Mk

Trackbacks

  1. Spring Time Tea « Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

