Skip to content

Getting Crunchy with Granola Bars

March 14, 2012

Summer is coming! Ok, actually spring is coming, then summer. When the weather gets warm Timmy and I like to spend time outside. His runs and bike rides will be getting longer, and hopefully we will go hiking a few more times this year than last year. I even claimed that I was going to start exercising more (that won’t be hard since I don’t do it at all now), and I said I might even run (I use the term loosely) a half marathon in the fall. I’m not sure what kind of drug/alcohol induced state I was in when I said that, but apparently I said it. As soon as school is over the training will begin. Yikes!

All of that means we are heading into prime granola bar time. Granola bars are the perfect snack – portable, healthy and packed with energy. I’ve already experimented with a couple different combinations: 1) walnuts, peanuts, apricots, cranberries and cinnamon, and 2) walnuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkins seeds, raisins and apples. They both have oats, of course, and chia seeds. Both were pretty tasty, but a little too crumbly to eat on the run {literally}. Which means, I need your help!

Right now I am using 2/3 cup honey, 3 tbsp butter, and 1/4 cup brown sugar as my glue. How do you make granola bars? Is there a better ratio or a different combination of ingredients that would make my granola bars more sturdy? Maybe I’m using too much granola and not enough glue… I’m going to experiment with a peanut butter granola bar recipe next, but I would like to be able to make a good granola bar without peanut butter too. Help! Any ideas?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    March 14, 2012 11:14 am

    Half marathon – woohoo! You’ve inspired me, however, NOT to do a half marathon – maybe, just maybe, a 5K or two this spring!

  2. Rose permalink
    March 14, 2012 11:20 am

    PS –
    Peanut butter (or any nut butter – almond is tasty), or another fat would certainly help your granola to “stick”. So would the addition of some sort of soy product (powder/flakes – make a paste and add it to the sugars and fats) – it’s a decent binder and a good emulsifying agent.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    March 14, 2012 9:28 pm

    Well, I’ll defer to the expert (above) on the making of them…but I am really good at eating them! And, I don’t do any running or anything! It’s a natural talent I guess. Can’t wait to try the next batch
    Mary Kay

Leave a Reply

