Skip to content

Weekend Chic: Cobalt & Coral

March 10, 2012
Cobalt & Coral
Cobalt & Coral by mrsduck featuring leather flats

I love this dress. The color, if it is what I imagine it is, is my favorite color. I know, gray is so dreary but this gray is beautiful. It’s a good thing that the dress is my favorite thing because, aside from the ring, it’s the only thing I could afford in my lifetime in this outfit… Yikes! I like being able to shop like this, with an infinite closet and no money spent.

And speaking of money, Timmy and I watched the movie “In Time” last week. It’s premise is that time is the new currency and it can be earned and spent like money. Have you ever noticed that these sci-fi, futuristic style movies always have one MAJOR flaw? They focus in on one technology to the total neglect of almost all others. For example, this movie gave people total control over aging, but the time control headquarters looked like NASA ground control in 1960. The law enforcement agency had regressed in technology to somewhere around the year 1935. This wasn’t just a bad movie either, this is the case in a LOT of movies. Why?? Please, someone explain this to me…

While you’re at it – Have a stylish Saturday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    March 10, 2012 10:38 am

    My hypothesis regarding your movie question would be that because these movies are premised on one form of technology going out of control then simultaneously all other forms of technology would regress. Think of it from a budgeting perspective. If all of your budget is focused on a specific area/discipline then all of the secondary areas/disciplines will regress or, in a best case and unlikely scenario, remain neutral.

    • March 10, 2012 12:42 pm

      I get what you’re saying, but I have to disagree because I cannot accept that technology behaves or can be treated the same as money. Money is more of a finite thing, I have a dollar and several options for how I use it, but ultimately I must choose only one. But with technology I have a computer chip and I could use that chip to do all kinds of different things. My basic understanding of technological advancement tells me that often when technological discoveries are made in one area, they can be applied other places. I find it hard to believe that the technological advances that took us from even the basic technology of the french press, to the computerized espresso makers we have today were solely due to research within the coffee-maker industry. Therefore I see no reason to think that even if aging technology, for example, does explode that any new developments or discoveries would have no application in other fields. So, while I get that maybe one area would temporarily seem to surge ahead of the curve, as soon as new applications of that developing technology are discovered (and I am assuming that they will be), other areas would quickly catch up…

Leave a Reply

