Skip to content

Thanks Giving {25}

March 9, 2012

This week my kids were great, the weather was great, everything was great. I’m not sure how it happened, but it did and I am thankful for it! You’ll notice that my post today has a theme: chickens. I love ’em.

First, I am thankful for the new additions to my family – 6 baby chicks! Sadly, they’re not mine… My cousin has adopted them and from what I hear, they have been peep, peep, peeping all week long in their living room. My mom sent me a picture of one of my cousins holding a chick in her hands and giving it a kiss. It is one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. Thank you for fluffy baby chicks!

Second, I am thankful for Timmy. No, he’s not a chicken! When I found out that my cousin adopted chicks I got so excited that I immediately begged him to let me get some. And he said yes! I’m pretty sure he only said yes because there’s no way the city (or our neighbors) would allow me to raise chickens in our tiny backyard, but he still said it. Someday, when we live in our dream house in the country I will remind him of this. Thanks Timmy, for being so supportive!

Third, I am thankful for a funny moment I had with one of my students. One boy is notoriously bad at cleaning up, and he made a big mess in the play kitchen, the hardest area to clean. When it was time to clean up, instead of things being put away, I heard “bawk! bawk! bawk!” coming from the direction of the kitchen. I looked up and there is this little guy flapping his wings and pecking his nose, acting like a chicken. I’m about to threaten him with our behavior chart (sadly they don’t let us use weapons… I probably should erase that…), when he lays an egg. A plastic egg dropped out from between his knees, and he looked around with the exact look I imagine a chicken would when she lays an egg. I couldn’t yell at him. I was laughing out loud. And for a moment we were laughing together and it was cute. Then I made him clean up his mess because I’m mean. But I’m thankful for how hilarious kids can be!

Fourth, I am thankful for the memories I have of my twin cousins and I playing with chickens. The twins were the same age as me, and they lived on a farm. I loved going there to play because they had all kinds of animals, including chickens. We used to pretend that the chickens were our baby dolls. We would hold them and push them on the swing set, which I’m sure they loved. In case you don’t believe me, here is the proof: me, circa 1988 holding one of the rather angry looking chickens. Thanks for not pecking my eyes out chickens!

Finally, I am thankful for Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa, who recently taught me how to make the perfect hard boiled eggs. I don’t know how it’s possible that I went 29 years without being able to make one properly, but I did. My eggs always had the rubbery texture and green ring around the yolk. Then I saw Ina make hard boiled eggs, and I tried it her way. Perfection! Apparently you don’t leave the eggs on the heat for the 12 minutes… Thanks Ina! I made these eggs to add to a big salad last night and they were delicious!

There you have it, my ode to chickens. What a good animal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    March 9, 2012 11:36 am

    I’m thankful for you Melissa – this cute chicken post, and for reminding me that Easter is not too far away!

    • March 10, 2012 12:45 pm

      I know, I can’t believe Easter will be here soon… Where did the last two and a half months go??

Leave a Reply

