Skip to content

Embroidered Cookies & Lessons I Will Never Learn

March 6, 2012

I know I shouldn’t say it, but don’t these cookies look good?! I was surprised at how simple they were to make! They would be so pretty for a wedding or baby shower, or any kind of fun girly party, really. Once I got the hang of it, they didn’t even take too long. Below you can see a brief picture tutorial of how I made them. Here is the link to the instructions I used, if you would like to try them yourself: Celebrations.com

Even though these cookies turned out well, the process made me realize that there are some lessons I find myself “learning” over and over; which makes them lessons I will seemingly never learn. First, read through all the directions before starting the project. I never underestimate my understanding of how to do or make something. My ability, I doubt consistently, but my general understanding, never. Example: Turn on figure skating and even though I know I can barely skate across a rink, I will easily be able to tell you (inaccurately, I’m sure) what each skater does wrong and how she can improve. So, I baked the cookies. No problems there. I made the royal icing and I did the circle of color. Then I pulled up the instructions. They suggest slightly watering down the first round of icing so that when you fill in the circle there are no visible lines. I did a lot of tapping, but my cookies still have pretty obvious lines… Now I know…I will probably remember this specific lesson, but not the overarching lesson of humility – i.e. don’t assume I know what I’m doing.

And the second lesson I will never learn: Some things are hard or tedious at first, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t worth it. About halfway through the detailing on the first cookie I started thinking about how awful the project was, how long it was going to take, and whether I could get away with making just a couple fancy cookies and leaving the rest as is. This is the same thing that happened to me when I was making the pearl mittens. I got a quarter of the way into the first one and thought I wouldn’t be able to finish them. But I usually force myself to keep going anyway and soon I realize that I’m enjoying what I’m doing. By the fourth cookie I was able to do the whole process quickly and I liked figuring out ways to make each cookie different. So, even though I just started a new project that is already giving me a feeling of dread, I’m trying to keep this lesson in mind. Somehow it’s not helping…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Megs permalink
    March 6, 2012 9:42 am

    these are beautiful!!!!!! i am so impressed! there are so many things i want you to teach me when i am there this fall i think i will need to come stay for a whole month! 🙂

  2. Rose permalink
    March 6, 2012 11:08 am

    These are GORGEOUS and I’m going to try to do them this weekend. You could sell these, really.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    March 8, 2012 11:15 am

    Best part…they tasted as good as they looked. Honestly, they were absolutely gorgeous.
    Mary Kay

Leave a Reply

