Skip to content

Lemon & Chia Seed Muffins

February 29, 2012

Timmy read a book, called Born To Run by Christopher McDougall. Suddenly I was buying pinole (basically corn meal) and chia seeds. Really. The seeds you use to grow a chia pet. It turns out chia seeds are really good for you. They are high in Omega-3 fatty acids, protein and fiber and contain calcium and potassium too. I like adding this kind of ingredient to my baked goods so I can trick myself into thinking they’re good for me… It’s a lot easier to rationalize eating 5 muffins for breakfast when they’re made with whole wheat or chia seeds.

For my first test I used the recipe on the back of the chia seed package, Bob’s Red Mill. The recipe actually makes a loaf of bread, but I made muffins instead. They are pretty good, but I think the lemon flavor would be enhanced by adding a tablespoon of lemon zest. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup rice or soy milk
1/2 cup margarine
1/2 cup sugar
1-1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

1 – Combine chia seeds, lemon juice and milk. Let stand 15 minutes. Seeds will develop a gelatinous texture.

2 – Cream together margarine and sugar. Slowly add chia seed mixture and blend well.

3 – Add the dry ingredients and blend until just combined. Scoop into a greased 8″ loaf pan (or greased muffin pan) and bake at 350 45-50 minutes (15-20 for muffins).

4 – When out of the oven, combine 2 tbsp of sugar with 1 tbsp of lemon juice and pour evenly over the top. Serve when slightly cooled.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 29, 2012 9:39 am

    Where did you purchase the Chia seeds?

    • February 29, 2012 11:12 am

      I got my chia seeds in the health food section of the grocery store. I think buying them online might be cheaper (like form Amazon), if you can avoid paying shipping. Otherwise the price is about the same – not too bad.

  2. February 29, 2012 9:42 am

    I was one of the lucky ones to try one of Melissa’s muffins last week and let me tell you, they were great! So far, no sprouts growing. Maybe I need to water.

Leave a Reply

