Skip to content

Spring Cleaning: 2012 Edition

February 22, 2012

While Timmy was gone last weekend I was sick… Not the ach-y, can’t-do-anything-but-lie-on-the-couch kind of sick, just the can’t-turn-the-faucet-off-let-alone-breath runny nose. I was also feeling very uninspired. So all that time I thought I would use to work on projects – yeah, didn’t happen. I couldn’t just sit around though, so I did some early spring cleaning.

I really enjoy spring cleaning, most cleaning actually. I find it to be therapeutic. I’ve always been a stress cleaner. Even in high school, when I was angry or upset I would organize my closet or clean out my desk to take my mind off things. Now that I have my own house, there are almost too many places to keep organized… But I like hauling out the trash bag or Goodwill donation and coming back to look at a neat and tidy space. I can usually stand for about 20 minutes just admiring a job well done – which is far longer than I can admire any other kind of project I work on, even knitting.

Timmy gave me some great airtight containers for Christmas so that I could re-organize the kitchen cupboards. I asked for them, it wasn’t a hint that things were getting too chaotic. Frankly, I’m not sure Timmy has ever opened the cupboard with the flour, sugar and spices so he wouldn’t even know it was a mess. Anyway, I finally got to use the containers, along with several others, to organize my cupboards. I am so happy now. While the kitchen as a whole is not totally put together, the cupboards are! If only the craft room was this organized…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    February 22, 2012 1:10 pm

    I think I’m feeling inspired! Noticed the clementine boxes…I’ve been trying to think of something to do with them, so thanks for the inspiration,
    Love,
    MAry Kay

    • February 23, 2012 10:53 am

      I put my spices in one and baking supplies, like cupcake papers and kitchen twine in the other. It makes it a lot easier to keep everything else in order. Plus, I can just pull out the box to find what I need, rather than having to dig through the back of the cupboard and knock things over… I’m happy I could be helpful!

Leave a Reply

