Skip to content

Homemade Chai Tea

February 21, 2012

I love chai tea. Love. But it’s expensive! By the cup at a coffee shop it’s like $4, and even the concentrate you get at the store is, like, $9 to make maybe 4 – 5 cups. Considering I can get coffee for both Timmy and I for about 17 days for $9 (that’s about $.25 a cup). All that is to say – I decided to try to make a homemade version. I found this recipe on Nifty Thrifty Things. I should admit that, even if I hated chai I might have tried this recipe anyway because I love these bottles. I have three and I try to keep them full of something wonderful.

I doubled the recipe when I made it and let it simmer an extra 20 minutes. I ended up with 4 cups anyway, so I thought it would be pretty strong. It wasn’t. My suggestion is to double everything, because I imagine it would be pretty weak otherwise. Maybe not, I’ll have to experiment. It’s also not all that spicy. I like mine with a good bite, so I think next time I might use whole pepper corns instead of ground pepper, and more ginger. Having said that, it’s pretty good!

Oh, and nota bene: pimento seeds are allspice seeds. the author of the recipe lives in Germany, and that’s what they are called there. Also, I know that some of these spices can be expensive, so maybe you’re not saving a whole lot of money… My only suggestion is to shop around and try ethnic markets. Here in Bethlehem we have a place called Elia’s Farmer’s Market where I can get spices at a really good price, sometimes even in bulk. And they have a lot of the spices that I can’t find in my local grocery store, like cardamom pods and star anise.

So, if you want to test this out, try Vanessa’s recipe and let me know what you think. After I do some experimenting, I’ll share my new recipe with you!

Donna – thanks for reading! I hope this helps!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

