Skip to content

Trendy Health Food – Kale Chips

February 16, 2012

No, this is not an illegal substance. It’s KALE! From what I gather, kale chips are all the rage in the health food world, so I thought I’d try them. Why not? We try to eat fairly healthy, and I’m not afraid to be a little trendy now and then. Here’s how I made them:

A couple suggestions, in case you decide to try them: Don’t over crowd the baking sheet, otherwise they don’t cook evenly. You don’t want limp wilted kale mixed with burnt kale. I did mine in 2 batches. Don’t go too crazy with the olive oil. I would stick to about 2 tablespoons for the whole bunch of kale. When it gets close to the 10 minute mark, watch the kale. It takes seconds to go from perfectly crisp to totally burned. And finally, make sure it cools completely before packing it up, you don’t want to trap any moisture in the container.

And the verdict – I kind of like them. They do not taste like potato chips (contrary to the insane person in the comments section of one of the recipes I looked at), but they do have a nice flavor and a slight crunch. I’m not sure I’ll keep a supply on hand at all times, but they’re a good snack to add to the mix. I asked Timmy what he thought and his response was, “I don’t think I kale for this food.” Haha, I think he’s spent a little too much time listening to my jokes. Let me know what you think if you’ve tried them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    February 16, 2012 9:47 am

    Yummy! This works really well with Brussels Sprouts too – use separated leaves and/or shred them. Roast with peanut or olive oil at 400 for 10 minutes or so – sprinkle with salt right away. Uncle Joe loves these. I’m going to try the Kale……

    • February 16, 2012 9:49 am

      I didn’t even think of brussels sprouts! They are one of my favorite vegetables too… I will definitely try this soon. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. Ann permalink
    February 17, 2012 9:16 pm

    We had kale chips at our Christmas with Steve’s family. They topped our salads. Linda got them at Wegman’s and they were expensive and delicious. I loved them. This is a cheaper solution.

    I really enjoy kale steamed in a small amount of chicken broth, dried cranberries and onions, with a bit of dijon mustard whisked in. Four out of five Kinneys recommend it! (Not Jojo)

    • Rose permalink
      February 21, 2012 10:44 am

      Ann – That sound soo good and perfect for Lent!

    • February 23, 2012 10:54 am

      I will definitely be trying this recipe, it sounds yummy! Thank you for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

