Skip to content

Hand Knit Towels

January 31, 2012

I was perusing Ravelry (a knitting website) the other day and I came across a pattern for kitchen towels. The pictures were so nice, and it was from Purl Bee, which I love. I had some cotton tucked up in my stash, so I thought I’d make a few. I’m not sure how practical they will be, but they look nice and they didn’t take long to make.

I have been falling in love with vintage or antique things lately. I love the idea of using the same types of items that women used long ago, like rice heating packs, hand-sewn quilts or handmade kitchen towels.  Of course, I like using these things in the comfort of my centrally heated home with running water, electricity and a TV… Nevertheless, it’s always pleasant to find ways to connect with the past. That’s probably why I enjoy knitting and sewing so much. Hopefully these towels will be a useful addition to our household!

********************************

I’m linking up at:
five days five ways | feature friday free for all

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 3:00 pm

    I bet you will enjoy your towels. A friend of mine knitted some dish clothes similar to your towels. I LOVE them. They are made out of 100% cotton & are very absorbant. Maybe you should try some of those, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

