Skip to content

New Year, New Adventures

January 4, 2012

I usually make one resolution for the new year. It’s so much more manageable when you only have to work on one thing at a time.  I try not to resolve to do anything too difficult too – don’t want to set my self up to fail. I know that might sound lazy, but I’ve actually been able to keep pretty much all of my resolutions since I started this method. I made one resolution for this year, but I also decided to try something a little different. This year I’m making a list of things I’d like to accomplish.  So, here is a sample of my list:

1 – Make a quilt. Timmy gave my a Go Baby Accuquilt, so this will be much easier than I initially thought. Haha, now I’ve jinxed myself…

2 – Knit a fair isle color work sweater. This seems like a really big undertaking to me, but I guess ultimately it’s just knitting a sweater… Either way, it will be a good learning experience (hopefully)!

3 – Make my own pasta. I really wanted to do this last year… I even got a pasta maker for Christmas from Timmy’s parents. This year I’m determined to make my own pasta, at least a couple times. Homemade pasta is just so good! Maybe I’ll try my hand at making my first Tiramisu too, I’ve always wanted to try that!

4 – Learn HTML. I would like to make make my blog a lot more, well, better and the best way to do this is to have a real understanding of HTML. So I’m going to learn it, and then blow you all away with my mad blog designing skillz.

So, I guess I better get to work! I already started the year off by trying something new. My parents sent us an ebelskiver (able-skeever) pan and recipe book for Christmas. Ebelskivers are a traditional pastry from Denmark, much like a filled pancake. For my first try I’d say it went okay; they looked like the pictures in the cookbook so that’s good at least! One new adventure down, many, many more to go!

What new adventures are you going to have this year?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    January 4, 2012 6:59 pm

    Melissa –
    Come and make pasta with me – It’s one of my favorite cooking things to do. I just made butternut squash ravioli right before Christmas and make spaghetti sometimes just because it’s such a nice Saturday afternoon thing to do. I also teach about pasta in my food science classes!
    Here’s my recipe: 2 cups AP or bread flour and 3 eggs – that’s it!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

    • January 5, 2012 8:40 pm

      Yes!! I would love for you to teach me sometime!! I hope you know I’m going to take you up on this offer.

      • Rose permalink
        January 5, 2012 9:44 pm

        Good! We’ll pick a date soon.

Leave a Reply

