Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Dad!

January 1, 2012

Happy New Year!! Today is my dad’s birthday, so rather than post about new year’s resolutions and losing the “last five” (haha, that’s for you Timmy), I’m going to post about my dad. He’s pretty cool.

Here are the top three things I learned from my dad: 1) The value of great debate. I was debating abortion, capital punishment and a flat tax system by middle school. And along those same lines, anything can be argued over. We spent many a dinner time debating the meaning of the word “normal”, much to the vexation of my mom and brother. 2) A good joke is still funny the second, third, maybe even tenth time. Actually, I’ve been trying to teach him that it’s not, but fight it as I may, I find myself telling the same jokes over and over, just like him. And 3) The difference between “less” and “fewer”. I know it’s silly, but I get a slight sense of superiority when I use them correctly, or hear someone else use them incorrectly. Haha, thanks for that Dad!

I love that, in all the discussions we had I never felt like my opinion was dumb because I was only 12, or 16, or 28. I was always equal and so was my opinion. That’s not to say I was right, haha! In fact, I think most of the discussions started with Dad telling me I was wrong. While I may have been wrong frequently, I knew my opinion was still valid as long as it was well thought out. I also always knew that my dad loved me no matter how “wrong” I was.

So happy birthday, Dad!! I miss you. And Happy New Year to everyone else!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    January 1, 2012 8:50 am

    Happy Birthday! Hope you and Barbara have a great 2012
    Tim and Mary Kay

  2. Rose permalink
    January 1, 2012 12:23 pm

    Happy Birthday! – and Happy New Year to you and Barbara!
    Rose and Joe

Leave a Reply

