Skip to content

Christmas Tea Time

December 22, 2011

I wanted to do some baking last weekend, and I felt like trying something a little different. So I made biscotti, yum! I made two different kinds. First I made Triple Nut Biscotti, with almonds, walnuts, cashews and cinnamon.  Then I made Fruit & Nut Biscotti, which is loaded with figs, cranberries, cherries, papaya, crystallized ginger, and almonds. My own little version of fruit cake! I’ve been munching on these every night with my tea.

Actually, the Fruit & Nut Biscotti reminded me of my mom when I was making it. One of her favorite things this time of year is stollen bread. I like it but it’s not something I could eat a whole lot of… Plus, it’s, like, $12… yikes! So instead, I made this biscotti. Miss you Mom!

I also made these pizzelles earlier this week. I love making these! I have had my pizzelle maker since I was in college. I’m not sure why I wanted it, or where I even saw pizzelles to want to make them, but my mom gave me the pizzelle maker and I’ve been making them ever since. They are so light and crunchy. Perfect for dipping in coffee or tea. Plus, the recipe makes a ton and they last a long time. Finally, some Christmas baking done!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barbara Walker permalink
    December 22, 2011 10:09 am

    I miss you too!

Leave a Reply

