Skip to content

Santa Is a Bad Driver

December 12, 2011

A couple days ago I was on my way to school, and I was running late. I don’t know how you are when you’re running late, but when I am running late, especially for school, I start to believe that the world is conspiring against me. Every light turns red, every slow driver on the road works together to block my path, and suddenly, for no apparent reason, every road has construction work. On top of all these issues, the radio played nothing but commercials the full 15-20 minute drive and I had a headache brewing in the back of my skull. Needless to say, it was not a good start to the day.

As I’m approaching some railroad tracks (and a red light) I find myself stuck behind a little, old, red Honda Civic and a truck. Of course a truck, that’s to be expected. I am, after all, running late. I maneuvered around the truck and found myself in the right lane, attempting to pass the little red Civic. I had no trouble getting up next to it, why were they speeding up all of the sudden?? I turned to give the driver a angry look when, what to my wondering eyes should appear, but a jolly old man, plaid shirt and white beard. He had rosy cheeks and a smile that somehow seemed to say “I know if you’ve been bad or good…”  I blinked, could it be??

Another truck came up in my lane (of course), and I fell in line behind the little red Civic  to pass. How could I have missed this before – there were packages filling the back seat. Not wrapped presents, but boxes and bags piled nearly up to the roof. And the license plate read ” HOHOHO”. Ok, I made that last part up… I passed the truck, and again went to make my move around Santa in his little red Civic ( I was running late, Santa or not). Again, as I got up next to the  driver I had to look again. He looked back and smiled, then blew through a yellow light just as it turned red. I managed to stop, so as not to break any laws (my mother reads this blog afterall) but I’m pretty sure I heard, as he pulled out of sight, “Merry Christmas to you, and don’t pass on the right!”

******************************************

Oh, and because Timmy says I have to blog about it, I changed my hair. It’s copper-ish. I like it, but I also feel a little like Tink, from the movie Hook haha… It looks a lot brighter when there’s more light, but not quite as red as Julia Roberts’. I’m happy with the change though!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    December 12, 2011 7:02 pm

    Okay, this is the best one! I’m laughing at “don’t pass on the right”. Also, love your hair!

Leave a Reply

