Skip to content

Thanks Giving {12}

December 9, 2011

Another week has passed and it is again full of things to be thankful for! As we are steadily approaching Christmas and I still have a lot to prepare I find it harder to take the time to acknowledge the little things. I know I should be especially appreciative of them now, but sometimes I just want things to go smoothly, or be easy or end up how I had planned… I’m working on realizing that it’s the things I get out of the mishaps, mistakes and struggles that are so valuable, and worth being thankful for!

First, this week I am thankful for homemade ornaments. I love the simplicity and memories that each one holds. Last year I knew Timmy and I were not going to have many ornaments to fill our first Christmas tree together, so I set out to make some homemade ornaments. I made little cork gnomes, which remind me of the time I spent in Norway. I made paper balls our of cards we received for our wedding. Then I made cinnamon cookie trees and and gingerbread men, which I remember making with my mom in Girl Scouts. The other ornament is a Bethlehem star, one of our favorite non-homemade ornaments. This year I’m working on some (rudimentary) embroidered felt ornaments… in my spare time… Hopefully I’ll be able to add at least one homemade ornament each year.

Second, I am thankful for my grandma’s homemade grape jelly. She sent a jar of this tasty treat home with us after Thanksgiving and it it delicious! She grew the grapes in her yard and everything! My grandma is pretty amazing. Every morning I’ve been having toast with her grape jelly on top and thinking about how much I miss her. Thank you grandma!!

Third, I am thankful that Timmy takes care of me. Generally, I don’t need much taking care of, but I do tend to focus in on the things I think I need to do at the expense of things I want to do. I find myself saying “I’ve always wanted to do that” but not getting around to doing it. He has been making sure I get to do those things that I put aside, like going to Christkindlemart. It’s kind of like a big craft show/vendor fare with local artisans and people from all over selling their arts and crafts. I have wanted to go since I started coming to PA during the holidays, but I just never did. This year Timmy made sure I got to go. It was fun! Nicer than I expected actually, and I think I’ll try to go again next year. Thanks, Timmy!

Fourth, I am thankful for holiday parties! Who doesn’t love a good party? But more than that, it’s nice to be forced to step away from all the rush and bustle of preparing for Christmas, and just enjoy the Christmas season for a few hours. Seeing friends and family, spending time talking and reliving old stories, getting dressed up in our holiday clothes. Love it! We have a couple parties coming up and I can’t wait!

What are you thankful for this holiday season?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    December 9, 2011 6:14 pm

    Melissa – your tree is so pretty!
    I’m thankful for this blog, reminding me to be thankful, four our family, and yes, for Christmas parties too. We’re going to a few and haveing a few!
    Have a Happy weekend.
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  2. Rose permalink
    December 9, 2011 6:15 pm

    PS – I am thankful for Christmas cards too. I love sending and receiving them.

  3. December 10, 2011 4:08 pm

    Oh, me too!! Christmas cards are the best kind of mail!

Leave a Reply

