Skip to content

Trimming the Tree

December 8, 2011

Finally… Timmy and I decorated our tree! I think we put it off for a week and a half because the tree looked so nice without ornaments. I mean, we picked a really beautiful tree. In fact, now that the ornaments are on, we’re not sure we’re happy with it – we might want to take the ornaments back off and leave it au naturale haha… Maybe it just needs more ornaments (I’m working on that!)

Our tree is from M&M Tree Farm (my parent’s farm). It is a fraser fir. After last year’s “adventure” with a blue spruce, I demanded a soft tree. I still have scars from that. Ok, they’re emotional scars, but the point remains! It was a little tough to cut down for some reason, but we managed. We shook it, baled it and loaded it into the car for the long drive back to Pennsylvania. It rode right between us, it’s top branches poking up between the head rests of the front seats. I love the tradition of picking a tree and driving it all the way back to PA. It’s like bringing a piece of home back home for the holidays!

Lighting this tree was actually enjoyable! I pulled out all of the lights from last year’s tree and laughed at how bright it was. Timmy said it was hard to look at, like a super nova. I think it just had a lot of Christmas cheer! Haha, either way, I set out with the goal of not having a blinding tree this year. I got about half way down the tree with one long strand of lights, things were going well. Then I came to the last third… I used all but two short strands of lights… It’s a lot of lights. But in my defense, this year’s tree has a lot of branches and it’s a taller tree!

I hope you like our tree, we’re pretty happy with it. I like the hodge podge of ornaments look. There’s a place for coordinated trees, and I do love them. But I also love the homey, thrown together look. Let’s call it humble… Anyway, we had fun decorating together and enjoying some holiday toddies!

What are your tree trimming traditions?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    December 8, 2011 2:48 pm

    It looks so pretty!

  2. Tricia P. permalink
    December 9, 2011 11:15 am

    We have been collecting ornaments since we got married. We have a very homey looking tree. I try to coordinate the look with red glass balls scattered among the collected ornaments. I love your homey look too!

  3. December 10, 2011 7:08 pm

    Gorgeous tree!!! Love it totally. (Do make the twig votive—soooo easy!) Thanks for stopping by. I’ll be back shortly, gotta go spray paint some twigs for my vase now. :o)
    x

    • December 11, 2011 7:24 pm

      Thank you! I’ll be sure to post about the votives when I make them and link to you!

Leave a Reply

