Skip to content

Thanks Giving {11}

December 2, 2011

I am in such a grateful mood this week! Hearing stories about the troubles that other people are dealing with makes me really appreciate not having those problems. What a terrible time for people to have health/family issues too… And if you are having troubles, all the more reason to reflect on the things that are good in life!

For example, I am thankful that I was able to visit my family last week for Thanksgiving. We had a safe trip, and so did my brother and his wife. I don’t get to see my family a lot, but I get to see them more than some people see theirs. I’m also thankful that I have a family I want to see. We all get along and like being together, which is a blessing! (Just ask someone whose family doesn’t get along…) Oh, and I’m thankful for my mom’s cooking!! She was in the kitchen cooking something the whole time we were there, what a relief to not have to cook (or do dishes) for all those days!

I am thankful that I finished the shawls I was knitting for the nuns! I only ended up having to make 2, and they really didn’t take long at all, but with all of the Christmas knitting I was trying to do I started stressing myself out. Of course, it was completely unnecessary since it’s only December 2nd and I only have a couple things left to make. So I guess I’m also thankful that I started working on things early this year!

And speaking of stressing out and working on things – I am thankful for this blog, and that you actually read it! Without this motivation to have something to share with you I would still do projects occassionally, but rather than work through any stress I would probably just not do anything. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with that, but I’m always happier when I have something to show for myself at the end of the day. So, thank you for keeping me motivated!

Finally, I am thankful for the innocent sweetness of little kids. Yesterday, one of my kids burst into tears at the end of snack time. When I went over to ask him what was wrong he asked, “Do teachers forgive?” I said, “Of course we do, we love our students!” Then he told me, still through tears, “I did something bad… I broke the soap in the bathroom…” Apparently he didn’t know that the soap dispenser had been broken all day and the cover kept falling off. I gave him a big hug and explained that he didn’t break it and he wasn’t in trouble. If only all of my kids felt this bad when they think did something they shouldn’t have… He was just so cute and sweet I wanted to gobble him up! (Side note – what a weird development in the english language, when eating a small child indicates cuteness…) This same kid asked Santa for a dragon last weekend too… Does it get any cuter?

What are you thankful for this week?

PS – Lest you think I made a mistake in my numbering, I’m not counting last week’s Thanks Giving since it was Thanksgiving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    December 2, 2011 7:36 pm

    I’m so thankful for Tim. He’s hard working, kind, handsome and a great biker/runner! The luckiest day of my life was that day he asked me to have lunch with him and even though he was YOUNGER than me, I decided to “rock” the cradle and have lunch!
    Tommorrow is Mom’s birthday and I am thankful for her. She’s been a great mom and a wonderful example of what a good Christian woman should be. Happy birthday.

  2. Pop permalink
    December 4, 2011 4:05 pm

    I’m thankful for so many things there isn’t enough time left in a lifetime for me to list them all so I will just make a short special list:
    I am thankful for families that have shared one of their gifts with us:the Duckworths, Gaiottis, Elliotts, Kinneys, Poches, Trouts, Lemons, Walkers, Kostelnicks and in anticipation the Goodmans and, of course, I am thankful for God for sharing Tom with us.

    And while I’m at it I may as well say I am thankful for peanuts, children, cherry pie, singing, sunsets, ocean vacations, family get-togethers, books, Nanny’s cooking, smiles, holidays, day liies, aunts and uncles, moonlight, romantic songs, green lights,laughter, home made bread, our great country, piety,
    romanticism, joy, funny movies, peace, quiet mornings, noisy gatherings on ocean city porches,and all of you that have made my life so joyful especially the wonderful lady I married.
    POP

Leave a Reply

