Skip to content

Tree Farming

November 30, 2011

As some of you may know, my parents own a Christmas Tree Farm in Michigan. It’s really cool. Sometimes I like to tell people that my parents are farmers haha…  Anyway, one of the most fun things about going back to Michigan for Thanksgiving (or really any weekend between Thanksgiving and Christmas) is that we get to work on the Tree Farm. So, in honor of the tree farm, I made my own little trees at home. Here they are:

To make your own, all you need is green yarn (or colorful if you’re funky like that), some kind of glue type adhesive (I used mod podge), and a foam cone. If you don’t need your trees to be sturdy, you could always make a cone out of poster board too, I guess. Then all I did was paint the glue in stripes, starting at the fatter end of the cone and wrap the yarn as closely as I could. Paint – wrap – paint – wrap – etc. At the top I made a little coil of yarn and glued it down. It took a little practice to get the yarn to stay close together, so the white foam didn’t show through, but it wasn’t too hard. I ended each different color around the same spot so the yarn changes would all line up neatly.

On Thanksgiving I brought some mini cones to make ornaments or just tiny trees. The girls had fun with the glue! I haven’t decided whether I want to add to mine, or just leave them as is. I kind of like the simplicity, but a little more decoration might be festive too…

With that, I will leave you with a few pictures from our tree farming adventures. If you’re in Michigan and looking for a beautiful Christmas tree, stop by M & M Tree Farm!


The story of our Christmas tree coming soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    November 30, 2011 1:30 pm

    “Working Hard” photo:
    I see they are letting the son-in-law handle the 2 foot trees this year!
    (lol)

Leave a Reply

