Skip to content

State of the (He)art

November 14, 2011

I saw this idea a while ago and finally got around to doing it this weekend. As you may know, I moved from the small town of Fenton, Michigan to Bethlehem, Pennsylvania with my husband 2-1/2 years ago. My mom’s family is relatively small, she has one sister, who has two children. Our two families, plus my grandma and her husband would frequently get together, since we all lived within 10 miles of each other. I miss those times.

I miss shopping with my mom. I wish Timmy and I could meet my mom and dad for breakfast at the French Laundry. I wish my bother and his wife could come for dinner and drinks (they actually live in Wisconsin, not Michigan, right now). I wish my best friend and I could have girls night and gossip in person. I am happy living here in PA, Timmy’s family is so wonderful. I think of them as my own and feel the same ease with them as I do with my family. But a piece of my heart will always be in Michigan. I can’t wait to see everyone over Thanksgiving!

Lest you find yourself impressed with my excellent Michigan likeness, you should know – I traced a print out of the state. Let’s get real, I’m no artist. Creative, sometimes. Crafty, often. But artistic… not even close. I did freehand the heart though! Now this painting is hanging outside our bedroom, a happy reminder of where I’m from.

The only (electronic form) picture I have of all of us together... Good thing we're getting those family pictures taken!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:20 am

    That gorgeous dress, Melissa!!! We’ll miss you two at Thanksgiving but are happy you’ll be with your family – Hi to all of the Walkers!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

    • November 15, 2011 11:03 am

      We’re sad we will be missing Thanksgiving with you again this year too! At least we’ll be here for Christmas!

  2. Dad permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:38 am

    Very nice. Your mother and I miss you both very much. Looking forward to seeing all 4 of you next week.

  3. November 14, 2011 10:44 am

    Lovely, Melissa. I think you should do a column for a newspaper. I’m serious. And it’s not just because you are my niece and I’m biased. It’s because you are creative and thoughtful and are able to put your thoughts in an entertaining, thought provoking manner. Something to think about. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Maybe some day I will get to Pennsylvania. Love you.

    • November 15, 2011 11:02 am

      Well thank you! I think I’ll stick with the internet for now, since I have complete freedom to write whatever I want haha. Although getting paid to write would be nice… You’re welcome to visit us out here in PA any time, we’d love to have you!

  4. November 14, 2011 11:18 am

    Aw I love. I think you should make one and hand deliver it to me in Florida! = )

    • November 15, 2011 11:00 am

      I’m not sure about the hand delivering, but I’d be happy to make one for you! Just tell me what color you want.

  5. Mary Kay permalink
    November 14, 2011 5:48 pm

    Beautiful post, Melissa. We really have been blessed that you are part of our family! (I knew Timmy couldnt have been so beautiful for nothin’!). As much as I’ll miss you 2 at Thanksgiving, I’m glad your family will all be together . A big thank you to Dave and Barbara for raising such a wonderful girl and for sharing her with us.

  6. Megan permalink
    November 14, 2011 7:18 pm

    I love this post but it makes me miss you even more!! Your best friend (assuming you were talking about me….) misses you everyday, I know you are in great hands and that is the only reason I am ok with you not by my side. I cant wait to see you next week and think about you every day.

    Love you lots miss you lots
    megspegs

    • November 15, 2011 10:57 am

      Of course I was talking about you! And speaking of gossip, did you go to my 10 year reunion? I’ll call soon to talk!

  7. Ann Marie permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:37 pm

    Aw, Melissa, it’s a beautiful post. You certainly do Michigan proud.

Leave a Reply

