Skip to content

Thanks Giving Friday {9}

November 11, 2011

Happy Friday! Hope you’re having a good one. Here’s what I’m thankful for this week:

1 – I am thankful that Timmy is so supportive of my sometimes crazy ideas. The other night I told him about a big plan I have to move bedrooms and create a study in the front bedroom of our house. Then I told him the plan involved the two of us building a custom wall-to-wall shelving unit. He went along with everything without even blinking. That’s not true – there was a marked pause and probably several blinks, but then he just said okay and suggested we do something about the window that looks directly into the neighbor’s house. (He’s right, having a window like that in our bedroom could get awkward…) He didn’t even ask how much the whole project would cost! Wait until he finds out I actually want to follow through and DO this project next summer… I’m guessing he’ll have a lot more questions then!

2 – I’m thankful for my new friend Charlotte! She’s a spider who lives between the stair post and an old laundry hamper in the basement. Generally I don’t like spiders. Pretty much any creature with more than four legs gives me the heebie-jeebies. I thought about killing her when I first saw her but for some reason I didn’t. Now she waits for me each time I come down to do the laundry. Since I don’t have any other pets, I guess she’ll do. I am a little disappointed she hasn’t spun any messages into her web though…

3 – I am thankful for Big Tim, my father-in-law (he’s not big, in fact he’s quite fit, that’s just how I’m differentiating between him and Timmy) and the antique sewing table he just gave me!! It’s beautiful! It’s the kind you pump with your foot, and the machine is still in it. When he opened the top of the table and brought up the sewing machine I couldn’t believe what I saw. The painting was in excellent condition and really pretty. It needs a little maintenance and TLC, but I can’t wait to work on it! How nice is it that he thought of me when he saw it? Now I know where Timmy got his thoughtfulness. (Pictures soon)

4 – I am thankful that I found a great hairdresser in PA! You have to walk around with your hair everyday, which can make a bad hair cut feel really, really bad. I am so happy I found Lauren! She is a cool person, and she’s good with a pair of scissors. I like that when I wanted to re-chop off all my hair yesterday  (after 7 months of growing out…) she laughed, and then helped my get the cut I wanted. She’s always honest about what she thinks my hair will do and whether she thinks something will look okay. Needless to say, I’m happy with my new do!

5 – I am thankful for Corduroy! It is, after all, National Corduroy Day, the perfect time to be thankful for corduroy. Thanks to Timmy’s mom for making me aware of this fact! It’s apropo for today, since the date is 11/11/11. In honor of this unique textile I am wearing my favorite corduroy pants. If you listen carefully, you can probably hear me and the other corduroy wearers of the world swishing around today haha…


Happy National Corduroy Day and Happy Friday!
What are you thankful for this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    November 11, 2011 12:10 pm

    11/11/11
    That date looks like corduroy.
    .
    The haircut is pretty..

    I like Big Tim and Timmy, too.

  2. Rose permalink
    November 11, 2011 3:47 pm

    Love your post and haircut!

    I’m thankful for our Veterans!

  3. Pop permalink
    November 13, 2011 12:34 am

    I love your observations,
    They (you) are every clever!
    Pop

  4. November 13, 2011 11:01 pm

    Thank you for the sweet comment on my blog. I am so glad that you made the cute wooden dolls! My daughter has had so much fun with hers. Have a wonderful week!

  5. November 14, 2011 11:20 am

    oh my gosh. I just saw your hair. holy crap. I love it. I want to cut mine now. I am trying SO SO hard to grow it out (I know, I know you have heard this numerous times before…) You look so trendy, chic! I love it!

    • November 15, 2011 11:00 am

      Haha, I often think of you when I”m doing my hair in the mornings. I remember you used the same goop when you had short hair. Really, I just chopped my hair off in an effort to be more like you! PS – I’m coming to Florida in January, maybe we can meet up or something?

Leave a Reply

