Skip to content

Skirting the Issue

November 10, 2011

I fell in love last night. Not the fleeting, ephemeral kind that vanishes with the wind. I’m talking about the hormone driven, 7th grade crush, kind of love. The world is singing {his} name; you can’t get him out of your head; you act out (in your mind, or course…) all the ways he might ask you “out”; you right pathetic poem after cliche-filled couplet in {his} honor; you linger at your locker before 4th period because he has to walk by to get to his math class. I mean real, hard-core infatuation. (And you can stop cringing Duckworths, I’m not talking about Timmy.)

I’m talking about this skirt:

That’s right, I’m back on clothes. I’ve fallen off the wagon. Not yet, technically since I haven’t bought this skirt, but I’m weak! I stopped by Talbot’s on my way home because they had a big sale sign in the window. This skirt was waiting to greet me when I walked in the door. Unfortunately, they didn’t have my size, but I tried one size bigger and was tempted to buy it even thought it didn’t fit. If they had had my size I would have had to tell myself that $200 (!!!!) is too much to spend on a skirt, or any clothes right now, we don’t have the money, Christmas is coming and I should save, blah, blah, blah. All this would run through my head as I walked up to the check out counter haha…

Not being a fan of unrequited infatuation I came up with a new plan. I actually remembered that I had a crush on this other skirt a little while back but didn’t think I could pull it off. Side note – This is Kendi from Kendi Everyday, and I love her style! So, the rest of the night was spent on a quest to find this skirt for a reasonable price. So far I’ve found several that I like very much in the $400-$1,500 range…

Really, it’s quite fortunate that this popped up, because the post I had planned for today ended up being a failure. The technique for this particular project didn’t work at all… I’m still working on a substitution, but for now you’ll have to be content with a little skirt swooning. Hopefully I’ll come up with something good for that spot by next week… Have a great Thursday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 10:19 am

    I think we should have weekly meetings, you know, to talk clothes and to help each other through not purchasing things we don’t need. We could call it Shopping Addiction Anonymous. Because after reading this blog, I feel your pain. There is an amazing pair of Nine West shoes, that I NEED.

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    November 10, 2011 6:00 pm

    “Our love is like a one-way street,
    Like parallel lines that never meet”

    Nobody does LOVE like a 7th grader.

Trackbacks

  1. Thanks Giving {22} « Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

