Skip to content

Paper Cone Wreath

November 7, 2011

To get the week off to a good start I’m diving right in with a project post. Here is my latest wreath creation:

Isn’t it cool? I’m kind of proud of it. It’s a good thing too because it took a long time and a fair amount of patience. I can’t take too much credit, since I borrowed the idea from Laura at The Corner House, but I’m willing to take some credit, since I did the physical labor.

I used an 18″ willow branch wreath, 50 hot glue sticks at least, and about 350-400 paper cones. I used my Cricut to cut the colorful cones, which were made from double sided scrapbook paper. Then I cut the wordy cones by hand; I could cut about 4 at a time and I worked in batches, so it wasn’t too painful. Initially I was using a silly dating book, but I ran out of pages… I went back to my attic stash of books I don’t want people to know I own to try to find more pages of similar weight and white shade. Luckily I had two -Michael Moore’s Stupid White Men and a book of poetry by Jewel (now you can see why I keep these books in the attic…). Tough choice. I decided to use the Michael Moore book, which must signify that I think Jewel’s poetry is more valuable, and therefore worth saving. Take that for what you will…

The “Give Thanks” banner is not permanently affixed to the wreath. I’m thinking I can make a banner or other decoration for whatever season or holiday is coming up so the wreath can stay out year round. What do you think?

Vanessa liked my wreath! She’s from Nifty Thrifty Things and she featured this project on Nifty Thrifty Sunday #31!!

********************************

I linked up at:

The 36th Avenue

9 Comments leave one →
  1. The Embellished Nest permalink
    November 7, 2011 11:45 am

    This wreath looks amazing!

  2. November 7, 2011 7:31 pm

    Your wreath is beautiful. I love the idea of changing the banner with the season.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    November 7, 2011 8:59 pm

    The banner is perfect! I’ve been wondering what you would add to it!

  4. November 10, 2011 10:27 am

    Your wreath looks amazing!!! The banner is just darling as well – I also think it’s such a great idea to change up the banner with the seasons.

    And your secret books made me laugh – you know, I’m sure we ALL have some secret books stashed away that we don’t want anyone to know that we read… I mean, not me or anything….

    Take care,
    Christina
    http://www.designingbynumbers.com

  5. November 13, 2011 2:46 pm

    Thank you for linking up to {nifty thrifty sunday} last week! You have been featured at this week’s party! 🙂
    I hope to see more of your creativity this weekend!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  6. November 13, 2011 3:55 pm

    I love how the cones remind me of cornucopias for Thanksgiving! Good thing you were patient — it was worth it for us gawkers!!

  7. November 30, 2011 3:09 am

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  8. Diana B. permalink
    January 29, 2012 4:15 pm

    Simply beautiful!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. {nifty thrifty things} » {nifty thrifty sunday #31}

Leave a Reply

