Skip to content

Thanks Giving Friday {8}

November 4, 2011

I am alive! No trips to the hospital; no lying in bed sick; no tragedies of any size. I didn’t have any real posts for you this week because… Well, I’d like to say it’s because the power went out before I was able to finish my projects and it didn’t come back on for two days, and I had a lot to get ready for school, and my whole schedule was thrown off by the power outage, and on and on. All of that is true, but I guess what it really comes down to is – I was slacking. Here’s my public apology: I’m sorry for the lack of posts this week! I do have a couple things in the queue for next week, so hopefully we’ll get back on track!

And to get things back on track, here are some things I’m thankful for this week:

1 – I am thankful that I have family living close by. When we were without power for a second night, it was nice to have a place to go shower and sleep. It was really hard to move away from my family back in Michigan, but having Timmy’s family right here makes it a little easier. It must be tough for people who move somewhere and don’t know anyone nearby. I don’t even know what we would have done. I guess just waited it out? I don’t know.

2 – I am thankful for electricity!!!! What a relief when I came home Monday afternoon and we had power! You can only imagine Timmy’s disappointment when we got home from work and the power was off again. We had just enough time to pack a bag for another night at the in-laws before the lights came back on for good. Haha, you should have seen Timmy storm around the house. Looking back, he’s a pretty funny guy when he’s angry!

3 – I am thankful for bologna sandwiches. I think the last time I liked bologna I also liked My Little Pony and Polly Pocket. I don’t know why, but it sounded good this week. And it is. There’s nothing like a bologna and cheese sandwich!

4 – I am thankful for snow! Why not? I like cold weather. I’m glad I don’t live somewhere that’s warm all the time. This early snow was a fun way to shake things up and keep us on our toes. Someday we’ll look back on this whole experience fondly. Right?

This whole snowy, power outage experience reminded me of a line from one of my favorite songs by The Weepies – “We make hope from every small disaster.” I hope that’s how it continues to be for Timmy and I. I know life won’t always be perfect, but as long as we make hope, we’ll be fine!

What are you thankful for this week?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    November 4, 2011 5:10 pm

    1. I’m thankful for feeling better this week, and Mary Kay feeling better this week.
    2. Acorn squash – just made acorn squash soup with toasted almonds
    3.That “occupy Philly” hasn’t burnt anything as of yet……..

    Have a good weekend everyone!

    Love,
    Aunt Rose

Leave a Reply

