Skip to content

Happy Halloween!

October 31, 2011

“It is impossible to say how first the idea entered my brain; but once conceived, it haunted me day and night.” Do you know this story? More hints to come.

We got hit with a nor-easter over the weekend. I didn’t even know what a nor-easter was… Fortunately Bethlehem had trick-or-treating on Friday night, a beautiful fall night. Then early Saturday morning the rain began. By late Saturday morning it was snowing big fat heavy flakes. By Saturday evening we had a couple inches of snow, and no power. That’s right, we survived the hurricane; we survived the earthquake. Somehow we couldn’t get through a couple inches of snow without losing power.

It was fun at first, not having power. I lit lots of candles (fire safety be damned) and set them all around the living room. Timmy read a book while I knit by candle light. We were the picture of quaint, 18th century domesticity. I felt like I was living in a Jane Austen novel! Then I remembered that it was Halloween weekend. What’s more spooky than a power outage and a room lit by candles? So we got out my collection of Edgar Allen Poe stories. Can you guess what story that quote is from now?

“He had the eye of a vulture – a pale blue eye, with a film over it. Whenever it fell on me my blood ran cold…” Still not sure? It’s the Tell Tale Heart! Such a good story, especially for Halloween weekend. We also read The Black Cat – similarly creepy. This might be one of my new favorite Halloween memories.

I didn’t mind that the power was still off when we went to bed; although it was starting to get a little chilly in the house. When we woke up, still no power. I went and got coffee and breakfast, and we waited. 10:30am rolls by, still no power. It’s now 55° in the house. Not cold, but definitely not warm. The power outage is getting steadily less and less fun.  We went to Timmy’s parent’s house to shower and get warm for the afternoon. After dinner we went back to our house, still no power. Trees and huge branches were down everywhere.

At this point Timmy is absolutely convinced that he has figured out the priority list for the electric company to get the power back on: 1) The Mayor; 2) PPL Electric employees; and then people are ranked according to income – highest to lowest – so the rich people get power first. He assures me that if we won the lottery at this moment and called them up they would just flip a switch and our power would come on. Of course, as we drove through Bethlehem, lights in the house windows only proved to reinforce this idea…  You try explaining to him that wealthy people probably just have generators.

Now here we are, Sunday night, at Timmy’s parents for the night. According to the e-mail I received, PPL “understands my frustration” and has “assembled all available personnel.” Our power is estimated to return Monday night. I’m just thankful this didn’t happen in the middle of winter. It’s not cold enough for our pipes to freeze yet.

What’s your favorite Halloween memory?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    October 31, 2011 12:42 pm

    I remember jumping in piles of leaves before trick-or- treating with Uncle Mike when we were at Our Lady grade school, eating dinner early, then trying to get our costumes on over our coats! We had some Mexican garb from various family members’ trips to California/Tijuana and Uncle Robert’s old sailor uniform. We went as either of those two things several years in a row. I also remember taking inventory of my candy (lots of older brothers and sisters around!!) Happy memories! Happy Halloween!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  2. Tricia P. permalink
    October 31, 2011 12:44 pm

    We were without power for about ten hours Saturday evening. My fingerless gloves came in handy. We kept warm with out wood burning stove and have learned how to prepare for power outages ( they’re quite frequent in our area).

    My favorite halloween has to be 1986 when I went to a party at Lehigh. I met a really cute guy dressed as Moses (or some such biblical character). He asked me out the next week and the rest is history.

Leave a Reply

