Skip to content

Thanks Giving Friday {7}

October 28, 2011

Boy is it starting to get cold around here – Brrrr! I’m going to have to get the winter coats out. We’re almost into the official thankful season! Let’s get started:

1 – I am thankful that it didn’t rain on Wednesday so the preschool could go to the pumpkin patch! The kids had a great time going on a hay ride, feeding the goats, running through the corn maze and, of course, picking pumpkins! They were adorable!

2 – I am thankful for a fun Halloween Parade experience with the little kiddos! We walked in the Bath Halloween Parade on Tuesday night. The kids all dressed up in their costumes and threw candy. I was so proud of them, no one whined or cried about walking. They are so good!

Picture from marthastewart.com

3 – I am thankful for Butternut Squash Soup! I made a batch yesterday morning using this Martha Stewart Recipe: Butternut Bisque. It was pretty good! I crumbled a little bit of goat cheese on top, and crunched some tiny sweet pickles on the side. Yummy! I did alter the recipe slightly; I added 1tbsp of brown sugar, and a yam, since my squash was a little light. The soup was good, but I think I can do better. It wasn’t as thick as I would have liked… I’m going to test out a couple other recipes and variations to see if I can’t find just the right texture and flavor. Any one want to be a taster in my test kitchen?

4 – I am thankful for a comfy couch and falling asleep early! I used to give my mom a hard time about falling asleep on the couch – why not just go to bed if your tired?? Now that she has passed the fall-asleep-early gene on to me, I understand. On Wednesday night I fell asleep on the couch around 7:30-8:00… embarrassing, I know. For some reason I was totally worn out. I felt much better Thursday! A couple hours of sleep on the couch, plus several hours in bed, now I’m back to normal!

5 – I’m thankful that we don’t have any official plans this weekend! We have been pretty busy the last month and a half, this will be a welcome break. Not that we won’t do anything, of course, just that we don’t have to do anything. Maybe I’ll get a few projects done to share with you!

What are you doing this weekend? 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Walker permalink
    October 28, 2011 9:27 am

    I just watched the weather for PA looks like you might get some snow! Your soup will be a wonderful comfort food for the weekend. It sure looks good. Mom

  2. Rose permalink
    October 28, 2011 11:11 am

    I’m thankful that we don’t have any plans for this weekend either.

    I am also thankful for chicken bones – weird I know, but I freeze them when I roast a chicken, then when I have a bunch, I bake them in the oven to make a dark chicken stock – tomorrow I’ll make chicken pot pie with said stock! The house smells so good right now!

    We’re thankful that we were able to go to your great party last weekend. Your house looks so pretty and the food was fantastic. I looked at your “breakfast-after-the-party” plate more than once this week!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  3. Uncle Tom permalink
    October 28, 2011 9:56 pm

    I am thankful for early snow storms! Anyone else?

    Also, in view of the homemade soup this week, I am thankful that I forgot to bring to Melissa and Tim my no-recipe version of pumpkin-butternut squash soup which I froze a few weeks ago- I will deliver it on a later and appropriately autumnal day….

Leave a Reply

