Skip to content

Cardamom Shortbread Cookies

October 27, 2011

I mentioned this last week, and now here it is – Cardamom Shortbread Cookies! Shortbread is so good. There is a time for really sweet desserts, but sometimes you just want something with just a little sugar. These fit the bill. The best way to eat these is with a cup of pumpkin flavored coffee.

My recipe is a slight variation on this recipe from the Baltic Maid: Scottish Lavender Shortbread. I basically just swapped the lavender for cardamom (I used 1tbsp). I love cardamom, it’s similar to cinnamon, but it has a little peppery-ness. Delicious.

When I first read the recipe I thought maybe something was wrong. I checked the comments to see if other people noticed. Huh, no one else thought that something was missing… Is it really possible to make a cookie using butter as the only wet ingredient?? I was incredulous to say the least. I put the ingredients in the bowl and mixed. Still incredulous. Then I got my hands dirty and kneaded the whole mixture, perfect! I usually don’t like kneading because bread dough is so sticky, but this was fun! Plus the dough was easy to roll out. Mine cracked as I started rolling, but I just kept rolling and the cracks rejoined.

I used a small square cookie cutter and a shish kabob skewer to make my cookies. I think in the future I might try adding a light drizzle of maple icing for a slightly sweeter variation. Maple just seems like the right amount of fall warm sweetness to go with the cardamom…

Making shortbread was such a fast, easy process; I really enjoyed it. I think I’ll have to add this into my regular cookie rotation! Cardamom for the fall, lavender for the spring.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    October 28, 2011 2:54 pm

    I really liked these. Don’t think I’ve ever used cardamom, but it was tasty!

  2. December 4, 2012 10:33 pm

    Thank you for the link ๐Ÿ™‚ I love Cardamom and I can only imagine how tasty these cookies must’ve been. I am glad the cookies turned out and I didn’t actually forget to write down an ingredient ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

