Skip to content

Knitting Kniche: Autumn Stripes Dress

October 25, 2011

Finally… I’m revealing the fall sweater I was working on for the looooongest time. In terms of real knitting time, it actually didn’t take that long, but when you factor in procrastination and working on other things… it felt like forever. I am really happy with the way it came out! The yarn is Noro Kureyon, 100%wool. I did not use a pattern, it is a basic seamless raglan construction extended to dress length with minimal waist and hip shaping.

This yarn is really amazing. I have seen a lot of projects using Noro yarn and they are just about all beautiful. I’m not a fan of the way color changing yarns can pool colors all together though, so to avoid this I did 2-row stripes, one starting from the inside of the ball and one starting from the outside. Whenever the colors got too similar I would jump to another ball. So the stripes are completely unplanned and inconsistent, but every color goes with every other color so it works. I hope to use Noro yarns more in the future.

Timmy took these pictures for me on God’s Acre in Bethlehem, PA. It is an old Moravian cemetery with grave markers dating back to 1741. You might not even realize this is a cemetery because you can’t see the grave stones, but they are there. The Moravians believe that all people are equal, and in death everyone should be on an equal plane. By laying all of the grave stones down, no one was able to get closer to God through a bigger or taller headstone. I like that. I also like the big tree in the corner with yellow leaves. Beautiful. I think Timmy did alright for his first try helping me!

I like the peacefulness of cemeteries. It reminds me of the feeling you get when you’re meditating – you take deep breaths and right at the end of the third or fourth exhale you can feel the calm come over you. You want to just sit quietly and be for a minute. I used to meditate when I was in college for 15 minutes every day. I should do that again…

*******************
I’m partying at:



8 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    October 25, 2011 8:53 am

    Love your dress…and all your projects! This blog is great. I wish I could find more time to do fun, creative things. -Beth

    • October 25, 2011 9:29 am

      Thank you! I can’t wait to make something fun for your little baby girl! I already have something in mind… Congratulations!!

  2. Megan permalink
    October 25, 2011 10:27 am

    ummm i’m putting in my order for one of these dresses right now!! identical to yours please!!

  3. Rose permalink
    October 25, 2011 10:34 am

    Absolutely beautiful –

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    October 25, 2011 11:46 am

    The dress came out so beautifully! Noro is on sale today only at Knitter’s Edge, if you get a chance to pop in. Can’t wait to see it in person.

  5. Ann Marie permalink
    October 25, 2011 9:17 pm

    Wow, that’s really pretty. I love it. And Melissa, you are gorgeous in the sweater. I don’t understand the “two balls going at the same time” knitting. It sounds like a recipe for a big knot. It worked wonderfully, though.

    Did you see the Native American gravestones? Some are “Mohegan.” They are buried near the Bishop. I like the Moravian nod to equality for all in God’s Acre, except, aren’t the women separated from the men?

    What? This isn’t a history blog post?

    • October 27, 2011 7:06 pm

      Thank you! I didn’t notice that the women were separated from the men in the cemetery. I know they live in different houses in life, so I guess it would make sense that they carry that over to death as well. I’ll have to pay attention, and look for the Native American gravestones next time we walk by!

  6. October 28, 2011 4:58 pm

    How very fall! I’m hosting a Fabulous Fall party over at Not So Simple Housewife and I’d love for you to link this up! We are celebrating Fall and giving me and everybody else some great inspiration. We are looking for crafts, decor, food, and more! I’d love for you to add this and any other fall posts you may have!

    Kaitlin-The Not So SImple Housewife
    http://notsosimplehousewife.blogspot.com/2011/10/fabulous-fall-link-party.html

Leave a Reply

