Skip to content

Fall Party Fun!

October 24, 2011

Last weekend Timmy and I had a fall party! I know, I’ve said it so many times, but I love fall! I didn’t get a chance to take too many pictures, unfortunately, but I’ll share the few that I did get.

I meant to take a picture of the hors d’oeuvres table before every one dug in, but I didn’t quite make it… So I cheated and took a couple pictures the next morning of a few left overs. First, these are one of my favorite things to make for a party because they seem kind of fancy, they’re a little different than the usual hors d’oeuvres, and they’re yummy! Not to mention, they’re really easy and you can make them ahead of time. This is a Giada DeLaurentis recipe, and you can find it here: Cheese Stuffed Dates wrapped with Proscuitto.

I also made these yummy cupcakes. They are pumpkin cupcakes with salted caramel buttercream frosting, the recipe is from Made In Melissa’s Kitchen (how could they not be good with a blog name like that?). I made my cupcakes mini, and some of them did fall after I took them out of the oven, so there’s a warning if you want to try this… I’m not sure if it was because they were minis or what, but I found that, rather than folding the pumpkin in, I really combined it well and the cupcakes came out a little better. Fortunately the recipe makes a LOT of cupcakes so I could choose the best looking ones to put out. Don’t worry, the ones that didn’t look as good didn’t go to waste. I think I ate most of the first batch while the second tray was cooking, they were so yummy!

Also, I’m not really a huge buttercream frosting fan or caramel, but this salted caramel frosting is incredible. I had never made caramel before and this was a great first experience. You don’t have to worry about temperature and texture since you’re adding it in to the buttercream frosting when it cools. You’re also witnessing my first attempt at piping… Yikes, I know. I decided to pipe these and then realized I didn’t have any piping tips, so I just used the corner of a plastic baggie. It worked well enough for a first attempt. I tell myself that I like the homemade look, let’s call it “rustic”. Thank goodness I’m not a perfectionist!

We also had a visit from our friend, Gumbi! Or Gumbo, depending on how many cocktails you’ve had… And a deep philosophical conversation on the future of human genetics. That’s typical at your parties too, right?? I hope everyone had a good time! We sure did!

Added bonus that comes with throwing a party – the best breakfast of left overs! Maybe it’s weird, I like to think it’s European haha… Either way, I will be eating this breakfast for the next few days and LOVING it!

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    October 24, 2011 12:17 pm

    Those cupcakes were so delicious! We had a great time, thanks Melissa.

    • October 25, 2011 9:27 am

      Thank you! I’m happy to hear you had a good time! Hopefully at our next gathering you won’t be recovering from anything – at least not until the next day!

  2. Janey Brooks permalink
    October 24, 2011 1:26 pm

    Sounds great Melissa, I’ll have to try the stuffed dates!

    • October 25, 2011 9:26 am

      Thanks! They are really good. The recipe calls for basil, but the store was out so I went with tarragon (same family, right?) and the flavor was definitely different, but still good. Especially if you like that anise flavor…

  3. Rose permalink
    October 24, 2011 1:39 pm

    We had a great time too. We loved all of the food and your house looked to pretty. You and Timmy couldn’t have been more hospitable – and you looked fabulous as always. Thanks for inviting us. I’m going to make the cupcakes this week.

    • October 25, 2011 9:25 am

      Thank you! I’m so happy to hear you had a good time! Let me know how your cupcakes turn out.

  4. Tricia P. permalink
    October 24, 2011 8:17 pm

    It looks like you had a great time. I’m sorry we missed the festivities.

    • October 25, 2011 9:28 am

      We were sad that you couldn’t make it! We’ll just have to have another party!

Leave a Reply

