Skip to content

Thanks Giving {6}

October 21, 2011

So… I was in the car taking Timmy to work this morning when I realized, out loud, that I hadn’t written my usual post for today. Timmy looked at me with utter disappointment on his face and said, “What, so you’re not going to post at all??” Haha, he’s such a good husband. Of course I’m going to post the things I’m thankful for, I’ve been thinking about them all week! So I apologize for the late post… better late than never!

Without further ado –

1 – I am thankful for scarves! I wear a scarf almost every day. I was thinking about it, and if by some unfortunate turn of events I developed (grew?) a goiter, I would be alright. I mean, evening wear might be a little more difficult, but otherwise I could go on dressing the same old way and few people would notice a baseball sized growth protruding from the side of my neck. Which, I guess, is one great thing about scarves… Another great thing about scarves is that I can wear a really boring dress or shirt, and just add a scarf to pop in some color, or spice things up. If I’m not sure I like the way something fits, add a scarf! I’m not sure I like a certain pattern on a dress/shirt, add a scarf! The top I selected feels a touch too low-cut to wear to school, add a scarf! Basically, my mantra is “add a scarf!” If you don’t have a collection of scarves, but would like to try one, I would suggest checking out BonTon, they have a huge selection and last time I was in they were 40% off. But beware – once you’ve tried it, you might be addicted.

2 – I am thankful that my mother-in-law’s surgery went well yesterday! Hopefully, she will be feeling better soon.

3 – I am thankful for shortbread! For some reason there are certain foods that I just assume are too hard to make. Shortbread used to be one of them. I know, it’s basically just a cookie, why would I think that? Well, I don’t think it any more. Last night I made shortbread cookies and I loved the whole process! Especially the tasting… I’ll be posting my recipe, maybe next week, with more details!

4 – I am thankful for my latest knitting project. I can’t tell you much about it because it’s another Christmas present. I can tell you that is has taken me almost 2 months to get it going. I had a couple false starts and the yarn and pattern combinations I was trying just weren’t working so I was getting frustrated. Finally, I decided I would select my yarn (a soft, slightly fuzzy, alpaca yarn from my stash) and then look through all my books and magazines until I found something that would work. I have a number of magazines that I have never taken a pattern from, here was my opportunity. It worked! I found a pattern that was just right and it has been flying along. In fact, I might be about done by this time next week!

5 – I am thankful for my parents. Timmy and I are having a little gathering this weekend and my mom just called (as in, I was typing this post and the phone rang) and told me she was sorry she and Dad couldn’t make it. From Michigan. To Pennsylvania. They actually tried to get plane tickets to come out here last minute! Boy, do they love me! I hope they know I love them too!!

What are you thankful for this week?

***************************

I’m partying at:
five days five ways | 5 Things Thursday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    October 21, 2011 10:39 am

    I am thankful for my son, he is so cute and is at such a fun stage in his life. I just hate being away from him for one minute as I am afraid I might miss something cute or funny that he might do or say.

    I am thankful for my husband, I dont say this enough and sometimes I forget it but I am truely thankful for him everyday.

    I am thankful for sweaters and sweater season, I’m so cold at work and my favorite wrap sweater is always there to keep me warm.

  2. October 21, 2011 12:52 pm

    Melissa, I am very thankful for the invite to your fall gathering. Unfortunately, we found out last minute (2 days ago) that it is INDEED the housing fair on main campus Saturday and we must scramble to find housing for Steven with his roommate. We can’t attend.

    I don’t have your phone number! Did you know you are unlisted with 411? Is that a lawyer thing?

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    October 21, 2011 5:23 pm

    I’m thankful for anaethesia!
    I’m thankful for your parents, too, because they raised you so nicely!
    I’m also thankful for fall cocktail parties.

  4. October 24, 2011 11:54 pm

    Thanks for linking up, Melissa! What a fantastic selection of scarves! Unfortunately, scarves are pretty much ridiculous where I live since my neck would be constantly sweating, but I’m so glad someone gets to rock them on a daily basis (goiter or no goiter ; )).

    • October 25, 2011 9:24 am

      Thanks for visiting! I feel sorry for anyone who doesn’t get to wear scarves on a regular basis… At least you can rock boots occasionally!

Leave a Reply

