Skip to content

Top o’ the future TO YOU!

October 19, 2011

This top reminds me of the type of top some one in the 50s thought people would be wearing in the future. Which I guess was an accurate prediction since I’m in the future and wearing it. Maybe I have seen too many Twilight Zone episodes…

Anyway, this was made using another vintage pattern given to me by my grandmother. At first I thought it was too short, but once I had it on I decided I kind of like the cropped look of it. The pattern actually has a longer version, but the picture made it seem longer than I thought I’d like. It also has a version without pleats, but what fun is that?

This top comes with a kind of funny story – First, you have to know that I take my own pictures. I know a lot of people who blog have their husbands take their pictures, but that is too embarrassing for me. I feel foolish enough as it is. Also, my camera is not great (as you can tell by the approximately 50/50 good to bad ratio of my photography) and all I have is a 10 second self timer. As in push the button, run out in front of the camera, pose, wait, run back and check the picture, try again. You would not believe the number of pictures I have where only my elbow or the top of my head made it in the shot…

SO, when I was going to take these pictures I thought I’d be sort of creative and go to some railroad tracks, a la Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged vision of the future. Unfortunately, I didn’t consider the fact that I would be wearing heels. On railroad tracks. I imagine that, if anyone working in the warehouse next to these particular railroad tracks noticed me, they got a good chuckle watching me hop back and forth across the railroad ties taking pictures. I thought for sure I was going to break at least one ankle. Not to mention that, because I could not run quickly away from the tracks, I was pretty sure I heard a train coming every 5 seconds so I kept freezing in place and looking up the tracks haha. It was quite a scene… And ultimately I didn’t get many good pictures so it was kind of a waste. Ah well, I’ll just have to take some pictures the next time I wear this top – maybe I’ll let Timmy take them after all.

*********************
I’m all linked up at:
The 36th Avenue


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    October 19, 2011 12:53 pm

    Cute top, but this was the best post yet, since Squirrels must die. I am laughing like anything at the thought of you down by the tracks. What is the camera on? You are a complete nut, Melissa!

    • October 20, 2011 9:28 am

      It’s on the tri-pod you gave me! Imagine how much more ridiculous it would have been if I used my old method of stacking things on top of a potted plant stand… It did take some work to get all three legs balanced evenly on the railroad tracks though!

  2. October 19, 2011 3:57 pm

    Nice Seinfeld reference! But now I’m hungry for a muffin…

    • October 20, 2011 9:26 am

      Haha, thanks for noticing! Now I know what it takes to get my husband to comment – a good Seinfeld reference…

Leave a Reply

