Skip to content

Halloween Meets Chic, Part 1

October 18, 2011

Halloween is not my favorite holiday, but I never miss an opportunity to decorate and celebrate! I do enjoy the eery feeling you get from a good old ghost story. Especially when followed by an evening walk  through a graveyard, leaves crunching and twilight settling in around you. I can’t let Halloween go by without an annual viewing of Hocus Pocus, either. It’s a great Halloween classic!

That being said, I’m not really one to stash dismembered body parts around the house and put up cottony cobwebs on my chandeliers… To be honest, I find about 90% of Halloween decorations a little tacky. No offense to anyone who is crazy about gory displays, it’s just not my thing. So, in an effort to get into the Halloween spirit (har, har) I have created some decorations that I think capture the fun part of Halloween, and leave out the tacky gore.

First, I made a Halloween pennant banner. I can’t take credit for this idea, I pretty much directly copied it from this one I found at Alderberry Hill. Imitation is the best form of flattery, right? It was pretty simple. My pennants are each 6″ across and about 9″ long. I used cupcake papers, mini and regular sized, to frame the letters. Then I glued a circle in the middle of the paper, and glued the letters on to that. Embellish and string on to some batty ribbon. Fun and festive!

I’d love to know if you try this, of course it could be translated to other holidays and seasons. Stay tuned for part 2 of Halloween Meets Chic later this week!

**************************

I’m all linked up at:


The 36th Avenue

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

