Skip to content

Thanks Giving Friday Five

October 14, 2011

Friday already?! Wow… The weeks are flying by! This year seems like it slipped by really quickly, October is already almost half way over! How do you slow time? I should really take more time to appreciate special moments each day… I guess this is a start.

First, I am thankful that we got a new student at my preschool. I can only assume that his mother read my blog, saw my lessons, figured out where I teach and signed her son up immediately haha. Or, maybe she just happens to live close by. Either way, we now have 9 little bunnies hopping around the classroom! It’s amazing the difference one more makes on the noise level…

Second, I am thankful for the cupboard of dress up clothes we discovered in the preschool today! I was talking to my assistant teacher about how I would like to have dress up clothes available during play time and literally 10 minutes later we found some right in the classroom. Crazy! The cupboard is locked, I have no idea why, so we haven’t been able to go through them yet, but we pried back the doors and caught a glimpse of a firefighter coat and something sparkly! Hopefully the clothes will be in good condition and the kids will enjoy playing dress up. I know I always liked to play dress up!

Third, I am thankful that the weather is finally cooling off, hopefully for a while this time. I’m excited to be able to wear my jackets and scarves again! I love layering, especially when it’s functional and doesn’t make me sweat. I think layering is the best remedy for fashion boredom. Since I have been trying not to by any more clothes (2.5 months and going strong! Shoes don’t count…) I like that I can turn one simple top into several different looks just by pairing it with different layers and accessories. So hooray for cool weather!!

Finally, I am thankful for Timmy! Two nights with a house all to myself was enough. I don’t know how military wives do it… I have a hard time sleeping when Timmy isn’t there, it just feels like something is missing. Because it is! It was nice to have a weekend for myself, but I sure am happy that it was only 2 days!!

What are you thankful for this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    October 14, 2011 1:32 pm

    I’m thankful for cooler weather too – and the layered look – which you are soooo good at putting together!

    I’m also thankful for yummy apples – I’m baking pies in the morning to take to Nanny and Pop’s.

    Finally – thankful for my pretty church next door.

    Have a wonderful weekend –

  2. Rose permalink
    October 14, 2011 1:35 pm

    I’m also thankful (and excited) that we’re going to the Opera tonight to see Carmen!

  3. Uncle Tom permalink
    October 14, 2011 4:38 pm

    I am thankful, always, for this great blog! Great writing, great photos, and is a splash of sunshine even when the weather is gray. Thanks Melissa!

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    October 14, 2011 5:56 pm

    I’m thankful for Sweetzel’s Spiced wafers.
    After talking to Andrew about his metaphysics class, I’m thankful my college days are just a pleasant memory.

Leave a Reply

