Skip to content

Sew-cial Circles: Navajo Woman

October 13, 2011

When my grandmother came to visit in August, she brought some excellent vintage patterns for me. This is one of them!  I really liked the batwing/raglan style sleeves and the cowl neck. Initially, I wanted to use some kind of floral pattern, but I didn’t find anything I liked at Joann Fabrics… Apparently knit florals are only for kids.

Then I saw this fabric. It’s a totally different direction, but this kind of southwest inspired print is sort of trendy now, and I can dig it. Plus, this fabric is 100% cotton, and feels soft and fleece-like on the outside. Perfect for a sweatshirt like this.

I was a little nervous that the vintage pattern might be difficult to follow, but I figured I could just make it up as I go if need be. It ended up being really easy to follow, if I would only have paid attention to what I was doing. Enter the disaster of the weekend…  Instead of front, sleeve, back, sleeve, I sewed two sleeves together. Using a knit fabric. And zig-zag stitch. It was a nightmare to rip out. It took me 2 and a half hours. If anyone out there has any advice for ripping out zigzag stitch or knit fabrics, please help a girl out for future reference.

Once that crisis was resolved, everything went along smoothly. I love the double elastic band on the waist, and how easy this was to put together (when done correctly). The pattern was pretty big, so I tried to alter it down. It’s clearly still fairly big, but I kind of like the cape/poncho feel of it. And when I make it again, I can go even smaller.

Anyway, this will be great to wear when the weather cools off – a nice comfy outfit for fall!

*****************************

I’m all linked up at:

The 36th Avenue

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    October 14, 2011 5:48 pm

    That is so pretty! It reminds me of the Noro sweater you’re making.

Leave a Reply

