Skip to content

Festive Fall Wreaths

October 11, 2011

There are some things that never go out of style, wreaths being one. Sure, style, taste and personal preference might change but wreaths will always be around. It seems like a lot of people who write blogs have been making wreaths lately, so I’m joining the party! Both of these wreaths test out different ideas and techniques that I saw on various blogs, but neither of them are copies.

The first wreath is actually pretty small, I think 6″ across. I used some scrap fabric from this top and wrapped it around the foam wreath core. Then I made some cute little felt rosettes and hot glued it all together. Simple and cute. Mostly I just wanted to try making these felt rosettes, but I didn’t want them to go to waste. Using only things I already had around the craft room this little wreath cost nothing to make! I guess technically I paid for the foam core at some point and it wasn’t left over from another project, so the wreath probably cost about $2.

For the second wreath, I found some mod podge in a box of old supplies my mom sent with me last time I visited Michigan. I saw someone mod podge book pages one to a canvas for something in a baby nursery, and I liked the look of it. So I mod podged some book pages to a foam wreath core and I loved it! Then I was stuck; frozen in apprehension. What do I add? What if I blow it and it looks awful? Is it possible that adding something can only make it look bad??? Silly, I know. Especially since I can just make another one… Last weekend I decided that I didn’t care if I messed it up, it was fun to make so I’ll make another if I must. I added some flowers and fall leaves, a big pumpkin bow and VIOLA! I can’t decide if I like it, or if I think it’s a tad too country…

There you have it, project number one from my big weekend of fun!

*************************

I’m all linked up at:



The 36th Avenue

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:41 am

    Gorgeous – I love the felt flowers. I like making wreaths too!

Leave a Reply

