Skip to content

Mrs. Duck – Playing the Hits

October 10, 2011

I had an excellent weekend! It was filled with sewing, crafting and great music and movies! The only thing that could have made it better was Timmy. Here’s what I did:

First, I had to clean the crafting room up a little, I couldn’t work in that mess! Then I baked a batch of my favorite cookies, Whole Grain Ginger Snaps, yum! I’ll have to share that recipe sometime… Anyway, once all of that was in order I was only missing one thing before I could start working: a good playlist.

I’ve always liked listening to music, but Timmy and I don’t really do it often together. I like pretty much everything he likes, but he doesn’t like all of my favorites. So I put together an extra long playlist chock full of nostalgic and not-so-nostalgic songs that I don’t usually get to listen to. Including one of my current favorites, “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here” by Zooey Deschanel. Bonus, this fun video co-starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt! Mmmm-hmmm! Check it –

Once all that was in order I got right down to business. I have a bunch of fun things to share with you, but you’ll have to be patient! I’ll share the first project tomorrow. For now I’ll just say that I had some success, some eh, and one major disaster.

When I wasn’t up in the craft room I was knitting my sweater, trying to get it done (nearly there!) and watching movies. Sometimes I like a good dumb romantic comedy or Disney movie, but oddly this weekend I was more in the mood for romantic dramas. The first night I watched Last of the Mohicans. I lucked out with that one, it just happened to be on TV. Great movie! The second night I watched one of my all time favorites: Romeo & Juliet. That’s like the epitome of romantic dramas. I know it’s a strange pick, but the version directed by Baz Luhrmann (1996) is sooo good. I’m sure there are many, MANY who would disagree and tell me it’s a terrible version, terrible movie, blah, blah, blah. I like it.

I saw it in the movie theater in 8th grade and that might have been the first time I realized that those “classic tales” are not just “classic” because some crusty academic says they should be. Luhrmann took the words directly from Shakespeare and put them into a modern(ish) setting. Suddenly I realized that a good story is a good story, regardless of the time period in which it was written because people, relationships, love is always relevant. I still love it because the 90s hipster stylization and the music take me back to 8th grade and wishing I was as cool as these characters. Minus the suicide, obviously.

So if you’re looking to try out a new(er) version of a classic, give this one a try. It’s interesting, if nothing else. Plus, it stars Leonardo DiCaprio, if you’re into him.

What did you do this weekend? Happy Columbus Day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    October 10, 2011 8:57 am

    Last of the Mohicans is one of the BEST movies…..”I WILL find you!” Honestly – does it get better than that? It’s one of the rare times when the movie is better than the book. Uncle Mike has part of the sound track for his ring-tone I think! It’s a good movie for Fall…speaking of which, we should really get back to talking about camping sometime (note, talking about it might turn out to be better than doing it for me, but I’m willing to try!!)
    I’m glad you had a good weekend. Post that gingersnap recipe
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    October 10, 2011 12:51 pm

    Last of the Mohicans…
    Joanne was playing the soundtrack all Saturday morning while she cleaned her room. It seems we all had the same idea. Then, she went out, and Steve and I saw that it was on TV so we watched again!

    I pieced the top of Julie’s quilt according to the pattern of blocks she left for me. Steve helped me “sandwich” it together with blue backing and batting on Saturday morning. By the time Last of the Mohicans was on, I had started hand-quilting it. It’s a slow, but relaxing activity. I love it.

    Today, we are watching Hoarders and cleaning during commercials. Isn’t that what everyone does when watching Horaders?

  3. October 10, 2011 4:46 pm

    I LOVE Romeo and Juliet–I think I was in 8th grade as well, and it struck me that Shakespeare himself must have truly been madly in love at least once in his life to write something like that. AHhhh!!!! Love it. I will try Last of the Mohicans, never watched it, not sure why I didn’t. And yes, 500 days is intereseting, got me back into The SMiths! ha
    Have a great day,
    xo
    natalie

Leave a Reply

